Harmony quality is very poor? Or I have very bad luck? (Harmony 900 just died...) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-01-2011, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shadestreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have owned 3 Harmony remotes, 2 were 890's, and the newest is a 900.

The first 890 started getting white screens/pixel issues 6 months after purchase. Harmony honored their warranty and shipped me a new one. That one died about a year after use, same issues (white screen, fragmented pixels). Taking the battery out would provide temporary fix, but eventually became unusable.

This time I was out of my warranty period - but they did offer my 50% off a Harmony 900, so I picked one up assuming that whatever design flaws of hte 880/890 series would be corrected.

Now, 4 months after getting my 900, same issues are happening - frozen screen, white screen, fragmented pixels. Battery out sometimes works, I updated firmware, still doesnt work. Just submitted warranty claim.

Is it too much to expect a $400 remote to work longer than a few months? This is just ridiculous to have gone through 3 remotes in less than 3 years, especially condiering their price tags.

Do I have bad luck or is this common for them to break like this? I love everything about the remotes except the fact they die so quickly - is there a competitor that offers similar product but actually can make it 5 years - hopefully 10?
shadestreet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-01-2011, 11:01 AM
Member
 
ycrazyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think unfortunately you have bad luck. I currently own about 6 or 7 Harmony remotes between our places, and except for the charging issue with the 880 (where it simply stopped charging after a while) I have not had any issues at all. In fact, I just bought a new Harmony 1100 yesterday to replace a Harmony One in my den.
ycrazyy is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-01-2011, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Your luck is similar to mine. After going through a couple 880s I upgraded to an 890. The 890s started having issues as well. After all was said and done I went through a total of five remotes. The RMA return process was handled very well and while under warranty they did replace them. One was out of warranty, but still within two years so I replaced it using my Visa Warranty Protection. The last 890 began to fail under warranty and Logitech replaced it with a 900.

As soon as the 900 arrived I sold it and used the money to fund a URC MX-980 / MRF-350 combo.

bryansj is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-01-2011, 01:18 PM
 
schan1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Logitech isn't what it once was.

Like the above poster(and they are about the only ones I recommend), get a URC and your problems will be over.
schan1269 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-01-2011, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shadestreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is "URC MX-980 / MRF-350 combo"?
shadestreet is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-01-2011, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadestreet View Post

What is "URC MX-980 / MRF-350 combo"?

URC MX-980 remote with a MRF-350 RF base station.

bryansj is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-01-2011, 01:53 PM
 
schan1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Go to "frequently bought together"...

http://www.amazon.com/Universal-Remo...2231988&sr=1-1
schan1269 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-02-2011, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BizarroTerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Jose, CA USA
Posts: 1,777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
If you go with a URC MX-980 make sure you get the programming software when you buy it. URC doesn't make the software available on their website - it's only available through their dealers, and the remotes are programmed by the dealer.
BizarroTerl is online now  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off