iRule - Page 220 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6571 of 9945 Old 05-06-2012, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
jacket_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post


I attached a few of the custom pages in case anyone has any suggestions for a better layout!


Kevin,

Great work. An excellent layout. I wish you would save your artwork to the iRule user database. I would love to "steal" some of your hard work.

A question about your layout. When you need to adjust the lights during the movie or whenever the lights are lowered, do you jump to the Lutron page, then back to page you were on? I have been putting a "lights on" and "lights off" button on each page.

Mark
jacket_fan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6572 of 9945 Old 05-06-2012, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you know how to "capture/grab" the network codes(ip codes) for a device, or is it only accessible for installers?

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #6573 of 9945 Old 05-06-2012, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepsky4565 View Post

Has anyone used IP control for the Sony VPL-VW1000ES? I think I need a port number, but can't find what to use.

Looks like it supports telnet so why don't you try the standard port 23.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #6574 of 9945 Old 05-06-2012, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacket_fan View Post

Kevin,

Great work. An excellent layout. I wish you would save your artwork to the iRule user database. I would love to "steal" some of your hard work.

A question about your layout. When you need to adjust the lights during the movie or whenever the lights are lowered, do you jump to the Lutron page, then back to page you were on? I have been putting a "lights on" and "lights off" button on each page.


Thanks Jacket! Definitely a lot of work but so far my main test went pretty well today (just bumming I couldn't get my JVC RS55 projector working over IP even though I followed the Entrance instruction of 'PJREQ\\x0A' every 3.5 seconds). I thought about that myself and actually tried that but the layout looked a little tight so that bulb is the link to my Lutron page you see.


Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #6575 of 9945 Old 05-06-2012, 11:34 PM
Member
 
nrwatson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if I am being stupid but how can I see the attachments associated with the thread
Thanks Neale
nrwatson is offline  
post #6576 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 11:10 AM
Member
 
ArieS1204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My DirecTV HDDVR is dying and I need to replace it. Right now I have the HR21 that I control over RS232. Is the new model (HR24?) controllable over RS232 or IP? I would prefer IP...
Thanks.
ArieS1204 is offline  
post #6577 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrwatson View Post

Sorry if I am being stupid but how can I see the attachments associated with the thread
Thanks Neale

Not exactly sure what you mean but on any attached pictures or images you should just be able to click on it and it will bring up a larger image. Use a right click mouse to 'Save as...' if you want.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArieS1204 View Post

My DirecTV HDDVR is dying and I need to replace it. Right now I have the HR21 that I control over RS232. Is the new model (HR24?) controllable over RS232 or IP? I would prefer IP...
Thanks.

IP is what you want on the new HR's from DirecTV.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #6578 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Jim Clamage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: CT
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArieS1204 View Post

My DirecTV HDDVR is dying and I need to replace it. Right now I have the HR21 that I control over RS232. Is the new model (HR24?) controllable over RS232 or IP? I would prefer IP...
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

IP is what you want on the new HR's from DirecTV.

I control my HR21, 22, and 34 all over IP, I believe the 24 can as well.
Clam
Jim Clamage is offline  
post #6579 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 12:02 PM
Member
 
ArieS1204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks all, I will call them!
ArieS1204 is offline  
post #6580 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by runnernorth View Post

Do you know how to "capture/grab" the network codes(ip codes) for a device, or is it only accessible for installers?

There's no way that I know of to use a sniffer like application to interrogate your device output all supported IP/RS232 commands (like how the iLearner device outputs the hex string from the IR codes).

You usually have to search the net for your manufacturers IP/RS232 "protocol guide".

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #6581 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
dykz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

There's no way that I know of to use a sniffer like application to interrogate your device output all supported IP/RS232 commands (like how the iLearner device outputs the hex string from the IR codes).

You usually have to search the net for your manufacturers IP/RS232 "protocol guide".

Wouldn't you be able to setup Wireshark to capture all traffic for that specific port? Then, you would need to be accurate with timestamps to sift through the output.

EDIT: Nevermind, I highly doubt that the device outputs the commands without an associated input (which we don't know in this case).
dykz34 is offline  
post #6582 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicagoland (Naperville)
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by dykz34 View Post

EDIT: Nevermind, I highly doubt that the device outputs the commands without an associated input (which we don't know in this case).

That is the issue.

That would be cool if there was a command "dumpallcommands".

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Richter Family 3D Theater  

krichter1 is offline  
post #6583 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xb1032's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

...just bumming I couldn't get my JVC RS55 projector working over IP even though I followed the Entrance instruction of 'PJREQ\\x0A' every 3.5 seconds...

So the RS55 can't be controlled over IP? Just wondering because I'm considering this app and I have an RS45.
xb1032 is offline  
post #6584 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 10:41 PM
Member
 
nrwatson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post


Not exactly sure what you mean but on any attached pictures or images you should just be able to click on it and it will bring up a larger image. Use a right click mouse to 'Save as...' if you want.

IP is what you want on the new HR's from DirecTV.

Sorry hadn't gone far enough back in the thread late night :-)
nrwatson is offline  
post #6585 of 9945 Old 05-07-2012, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Deepsky4565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

Looks like it supports telnet so why don't you try the standard port 23.

Thanks for the tip, I'll try that when I can.
Deepsky4565 is offline  
post #6586 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 12:33 AM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post


There's no way that I know of to use a sniffer like application to interrogate your device output all supported IP/RS232 commands (like how the iLearner device outputs the hex string from the IR codes).

You usually have to search the net for your manufacturers IP/RS232 "protocol guide".

Krichter1, thx for your reply, too bad it's that hard to get these ip codes. But I actually managed to "find" the rs232 codes for my device, but are the 232 codes exactly the same as the IP codes? I've contacted Onkyo and asked to have IP codes fir my 5509, but they refused, ONLY to installers they said, damn.....

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #6587 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 12:34 AM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dykz34 View Post

Wouldn't you be able to setup Wireshark to capture all traffic for that specific port? Then, you would need to be accurate with timestamps to sift through the output.

EDIT: Nevermind, I highly doubt that the device outputs the commands without an associated input (which we don't know in this case).

Thx for your concern anyway :-)

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #6588 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 06:00 AM
Newbie
 
zoio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

Thanks Jacket! Definitely a lot of work but so far my main test went pretty well today (just bumming I couldn't get my JVC RS55 projector working over IP even though I followed the Entrance instruction of 'PJREQ\\x0A' every 3.5 seconds). I thought about that myself and actually tried that but the layout looked a little tight so that bulb is the link to my Lutron page you see.


The actual command for PJREQ is \\x50\\x4A\\x52\\x45\\x51 (converted to ASCII)

I have successfully controlled my X70 using iRule and I have shared my commands. Search for JVC under Vendor and X30/X70/X90/RS45/55/65 under model.

Look for the following command:

"PJREQ (Establish Network Connection)"

I have included it on the JVC's entrance and set it up to repeat every 4.5s.

I hope it helps.
zoio is offline  
post #6589 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
RDHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by runnernorth View Post


Krichter1, thx for your reply, too bad it's that hard to get these ip codes. But I actually managed to "find" the rs232 codes for my device, but are the 232 codes exactly the same as the IP codes? I've contacted Onkyo and asked to have IP codes fir my 5509, but they refused, ONLY to installers they said, damn.....

Shame on Onkyo!

Marantz has all of the IP Codes for my SR6006 available for download on their website.
RDHolmes is offline  
post #6590 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDHolmes View Post


Shame on Onkyo!

Marantz has all of the IP Codes for my SR6006 available for download on their website.

Yes, you're right, see the reply from Onkyo when I asked for the codes, BANDITS!!!


Dear Mr. Jansen.
Thank you for your email.
Please may we ask you for refference?
We hope for your understanding, since we provide these codes for proffessional installers only.

MfG / Sincere Regards
Customer care / PL / DR / MC / SK / UZ
ONKYO Europe Electronics GmbH
Liegnitzerstr. 6
D-82194 Groebenzell / Germany

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #6591 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 10:34 AM
Member
 
bcg27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The ISCP onkyo control protocol is readily available on the web. It contains information on both the rs232 ISCP protocol as well as what they call eISCP which is the same commands implemented in a simple tcp packet protocol. You can also check out the Onkyo ISCP plugin for eventghost for python code on how to construct and decode the eISCP packets.
bcg27 is offline  
post #6592 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcg27 View Post

The ISCP onkyo control protocol is readily available on the web. It contains information on both the rs232 ISCP protocol as well as what they call eISCP which is the same commands implemented in a simple tcp packet protocol. You can also check out the Onkyo ISCP plugin for eventghost for python code on how to construct and decode the eISCP packets.

Thx, I searched and found the protocol;-), who needs Onkyo support when people like you are around:-)
- now I ONLY remain teaching how to put which codes into iRulebuilder ;-))))), have just finished learning how to implement global cache codes into iRulebuilder, bit of a job for me:-/

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #6593 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
jtjjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post

Thanks John!

They are under 'Transport' images when you search the iRule DB but I included a blank one here for you.

Thanks - that was a great idea to get room for more sources.

JOhn
jtjjen is offline  
post #6594 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ecrabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by runnernorth View Post

Thx, I searched and found the protocol;-), who needs Onkyo support when people like you are around:-)
- now I ONLY remain teaching how to put which codes into iRulebuilder ;-))))), have just finished learning how to implement global cache codes into iRulebuilder, bit of a job for me:-/

Why are you not just using the stock onkyo/integra RS-232 codes alread available in the Builder?

SC

I've got GAS: Gadget Acquisition Syndrome.
ecrabb is offline  
post #6595 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 02:42 PM
Member
 
disker72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The stock Integra/Onkyo codes are a great starting point - but they don't have everything. If you have the protocol information, you can look at the stock codes and add anything else you want to it. But, as ecrabb infered, start with the stock codes!

It will save you a headache for sure!

disker72 is offline  
post #6596 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
osupike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoio View Post


The actual command for PJREQ is \\x50\\x4A\\x52\\x45\\x51 (converted to ASCII)

I have successfully controlled my X70 using iRule and I have shared my commands. Search for JVC under Vendor and X30/X70/X90/RS45/55/65 under model.

Look for the following command:

"PJREQ (Establish Network Connection)"

I have included it on the JVC's entrance and set it up to repeat every 4.5s.

I hope it helps.

IRule can do hex and/or ASCII. So you can simply use PJREQ to establish connection. What is confusing about their docs is that their commands terminate with \\x0A yet PJREQ needs no such termination.

Alex
osupike99 is offline  
post #6597 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 03:42 PM
Member
 
bcg27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want to add a new command and don't feel up to constructing it yourself straight from the protocol definition this is what I would do:
1. Download the latest version of eventghost to your computer if you don't have it already
2. Add the onkyo iscp plugin
3. Configure the iscp plugin to point to the correct ip address and port (60128 by default) of your onkyo receiver
4. Download wireshark
5. Start wireshark and open up the network interface your computer uses
6. In the filter entry write tcp.dstport==60128 (or whatever port you configured your onkyo to listen on)
6. In eventghost right click on configuration tree and add a new macro. Call it onkyo test or whatever you want
7. Right click on the macro and say add action. Navigate to onkyo iscp and choose send command. a window will pop up for you to enter the command from the excel document you found.
8. Choose the new code you want to enter - for example power off is PWR00.
9. Then hit test. Tab over to your wireshark window and there should be a new packet. Click on it and then look at the data. That is the command you need to send. If you right click on the data a menu will pop up and select copy value and you can paste the command somewhere.

Repeat 8 + 9 for all the new commands you want to add. Hope this helps
bcg27 is offline  
post #6598 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there anyway to put a page jump at the end of a button macro? SJ
SJHT is offline  
post #6599 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like Disker72 says, it doesn't have all the commands for my 5509, AND, I would like to know how to do it, maybe a bit to much to me, but think I'll give it a try;-)

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
post #6600 of 9945 Old 05-08-2012, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
 
runnernorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Skagen, Denmark
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bcg27 thx, that looks interesting, I'll try it and see if I manage to make it work. GREAT tutorial , thx :-)

kindly
Jan
runnernorth is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 3311ci Receiver , Sharp Aquos , Lcd Hdtv , Receivers Amplifiers , Philips Pronto Tsu7000 The Intelligent Remote Control For Home Theater
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off