AVS Forum banner
967K views 12K replies 891 participants last post by  Dan in St. Louis 
#1 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by barrygordon /forum/post/19727379

aag,

Think of it as an itach but only with a single serial output. You would go directly from iRule to the "ethernet to serial converter" using TCPIP. The text you would send would be what you would have sent over the RS232 connection.

I just bought one of the ethernet to serial converters so I can play with it with my system. It is due in on Monday, so by Friday I should have it all figured out (If my ego does not get in the way, and I have some free time).

That's great! In this case, Barry, I will patiently wait until you report whether you get the whole contraption to work effectively and reliably!

I have no experience with ethernet-to-serial, but I tried ethernet-to-USB several times over the past 15 years, and things invariably ended with tears
. Hence I am particularly grateful that you go in first!

I am flying over to the West Coast in late January. I will try to have the boards and stuff shipped to my hotel, thus avoiding the immense postal and customs charges levied for shipping to the Alpine Republic where I live. Often, the charges exceed the value of the equipment!

See less See more
#8,554 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by fight4yu  /t/1351981/irule/8550#post_23571640

RS45, Denon 4311 should be able to control via IP, so no additional GC required.

PS3 need a blu-ray to IR converter, and then you will need a GC with IR. Wii I think you can't do anything except using the Wii controller.

Your emotiva unlikely need any IR control...

what DVR box you have? Some newer DirectTV or DishTV box have IP control, I believe.

So how is the IP connection made? Do I run a Cat6 cable from the back of my WiFi router to the RS45 and the 4311? And that's it?