iRule - Page 351 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10501 of 10515 Old 03-26-2015, 08:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,215
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post
BTW: are you using a GC-100-XXX series adapter?
I don't use iRule or any GC hardware. I'm only here out of curiosity and to post codes occasionally.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10502 of 10515 Old 04-04-2015, 08:17 AM
Member
 
impmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone have any idea how this guy made his embedded sites show up ontop of the panel without a drawer. Like in the Nest page.
Thanks!
impmonkey is offline  
post #10503 of 10515 Old 04-04-2015, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Can't say for sure but a URL widget?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #10504 of 10515 Old 04-20-2015, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Rant upcoming.

So the time has come where my Harmony remote appears to be dying and instead of putting together the code together for my own remote control app, since I don't currently have a lot of free time on my hands, I figured the signs were pointing to me shelling out the $50 or $100 for the iRule app (And possibly the extra $100 for one of the IR or RS232 network interfaces), which I assumed would be totally user-intuitive, easy-to-use, and otherwise totally worth $50 or $100. However, after trying out the iRule builder and app set up on my phone, I'm really damn curious what this $50 would be getting me.

I set up a handset and an activity. I set up my 3 associated devices on the app with their IP addresses in their respective gateways, yet when I go to that activity, nothing happens. It seems like there is a pretty damn steep learning curve to even setting up an activity much less customizing the whole thing. The builder and the app itself are not very intuitive and it seems like this would take an awful lot of trouble-shooting to get quite right. I mean, I added those devices and I don't even have a "device" button that pops up and shows me all the commands for that device. "TV-ON/OFF"... that right there would've let me know if it was actually controlling my TV or not! Instead I just had the one "watch movie" activity.

Anyhoo, I'm posting on here because I want to know if this is general consensus of most people that have tried iRule or am I just missing something obvious about what would make this a worthwhile purchase? I mean, it doesn't seem to me that this is a terribly difficult app/software idea here. I've got app remotes for 1) Plex hometheater, 2) my yamaha receiver, and 3) my samsung TV. Each app finds each respective device on the network and, BAM!, I go right into controlling it. Why am I having such a hard time finding an app that can find my A/V devices and do basic controls and macros AND be easy to set up? Seriously, am I completely missing something here? (Oh, and every other remote app I looked at on that sticky thread was not compatible with my device)

At any rate, I might continue tinkering with this but I just ordered a Harmony hub with remote for $100. I'll give that one a go. I can only assume it's about as easy to set-up as my older Harmony remote was.
javanpohl is offline  
post #10505 of 10515 Old 04-20-2015, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The learning curve is steep. No beating around the bush with that one. If you aren't willing to put several hours into just learning what iRule can do and more importantly how to do it then I would look elsewhere, however iRule is almost limitless on what you can achieve.

I have the harmony and use it in my living room and it will not take you more than 30 minutes to set up.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #10506 of 10515 Old 04-20-2015, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 44
IRule is pretty awful if you're looking for anything remotely intuitive. It takes a ton of time to setup. Nothing fancy in my setup, but I've now got pretty good control on my receiver via IP, projector via IP, BR player via IP, cable box, HTPC via IP, Aton DLA6

Would love to get mouse controls but I'll fight that battle another day.

I wish IRule would get their act together and focus on the builder
Larry M is offline  
post #10507 of 10515 Old 04-20-2015, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deewan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Exclamation

Ohhhhhh goodie. This issue appears again after the latest iOS firmware update. Any chance it can be fixed in less than 3-4 months, unlike the last time? If it's going to be longer than a few months, I'll just load the old firmware on my iPad.


Or does anyone know of a quick fix besides the installing the old firmware?

First reported here. And then asked for a follow-up here.
deewan is offline  
post #10508 of 10515 Old 04-21-2015, 11:15 AM
Member
 
hughesne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Powell, OH
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ive just started messing with iRule this week. Got the advanced version and an itach flex to just play with IR devices, plan to add some serial devices. But first i was just trying to set up a new handset, a 6 plus. To start slow and ease into it, i just wanted to create a 2x3 grid of buttons taking up the whole screen. Created my buttons at 606x606 each, which should leave me ~200px at the top for a graphic. Added a left drawer for navigation items, hid the nav bar, added a few gestures to play with. All looks good in the builder preview. Sync with device. The buttons are all jumbled on top of each, none of the gestures work, left drawer doesnt pop out, nav bar still showing. Whats up with the builder/app and support? Really questioning if i should have gone this route, seems like the support is lacking. Im ok with the learning curve, but if simple layouts with no macros or device integration are causing me problems, how is this going to progress? Any suggestions?
hughesne is offline  
post #10509 of 10515 Old 04-21-2015, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
No real support except their forums and their tutorials, i highly suggest going through all of their videos and other written tutorials first before trying to build as it really isnt intuitive at first. Every single setting is there bit they all jave to. E set for each and every item you are manipulating.

http://www.iruleathome.com/support-c...utorial-videos

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #10510 of 10515 Old 04-21-2015, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Though I will add their forums are active with their development t team and they will assist

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #10511 of 10515 Old 04-21-2015, 12:37 PM
Member
 
hughesne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Powell, OH
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So i figured out the drawer, defaults to 0.00%.

Still trying to understand image size recommendations, hating this trial and error with the sizes. All the tutorials and guides just talk about background, which is simple.

No dice on gestures yet, probably something simple.
hughesne is offline  
post #10512 of 10515 Old 04-21-2015, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Have never played with gestures. I know the 6+ is new ( android user here) but did you search for samples in the builder they should be scaled correctly if they exist, I would try them first before importing your own. Also I highly doubt they updated them for the 6/6+ but they do have Photoshop files for all their buttons in the builder on their site

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #10513 of 10515 Old 04-22-2015, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Kurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry M View Post
IRule is pretty awful if you're looking for anything remotely intuitive. It takes a ton of time to setup. Nothing fancy in my setup, but I've now got pretty good control on my receiver via IP, projector via IP, BR player via IP, cable box, HTPC via IP, Aton DLA6

Would love to get mouse controls but I'll fight that battle another day.

I wish IRule would get their act together and focus on the builder
I think iRule works great, love it!

Light years ahead of that junk Logitech crap; I wont let that garbage company anywhere near my home. GARBAGE!
Kurfer is offline  
post #10514 of 10515 Old 04-22-2015, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim HTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just went through their dealer training videos in 2 hours and took final test this morning; programming ipad to control their devices (in their office).

The "setup" does take some getting used to. When I attempted by trial and error I can see how one could become frustrated. Once you watch the tutorials, you get a sense on how it works.

Just like all programming remotes. It takes time to learn. I'm not certain I will be selling Universal remote products anymore. I am extremely well versed with RS232 and TCP/IP so on that front this is light years ahead. I don't need to sell a box that locks up. I can make changes to customers remote on the fly. No more usb cables, or control boxes freezing up. One could argue you have to buy ios/android device....yeah, but you don't need to buy BOTH a dedicated handheld remote AND tablet/phone. You can just use one device.

I do wish there were other programming elements but for now it's fully functional.
Gator99 likes this.
Jim HTPC is offline  
post #10515 of 10515 Unread Today, 12:49 PM
Member
 
mpg732's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If your not willing to take the time to learn then you should stick with what you know.
mpg732 is online now  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 3311ci Receiver , Sharp Aquos , Lcd Hdtv , Receivers Amplifiers , Philips Pronto Tsu7000 The Intelligent Remote Control For Home Theater
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off