iRule - Page 369 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 70Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11041 of 11059 Old 08-16-2016, 05:03 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 20,805
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2015 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
No problem. Thanks for the info. I will delete off the one Apple TV from my iPad (which I'm not using on that de ice) and add the one I want. Hopefully that does it.



Stay tuned. Thanks!


Hope it works out cause it's a pain in the ass.


________________
Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11042 of 11059 Old 08-16-2016, 03:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,304
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1276 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Hope it works out cause it's a pain in the ass.


________________
Frank
Fail!

Any other suggestions?

It's back!! Wine of the Week! Clos Martinet Tinto, Priorat DOCa, Spain ~$60. If you've not had a good Priorat, you've not truly tried Spain's smallest, yet most unique terroir.
My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon
thebland is online now  
post #11043 of 11059 Old 08-16-2016, 04:02 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 20,805
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2015 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Fail!



Any other suggestions?

Just trying to make sure the basics are checked:
- Apple TV and iPad are on the same wifi router
- did you end up entering the code for the Apple TV ( the one you want to control ) and it showed successful


________________
Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is offline  
post #11044 of 11059 Old 08-16-2016, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I use IR (iTach) with the Apple TV and it works perfectly. Since I already had it for another component.... SJ
SJHT is online now  
post #11045 of 11059 Old 08-16-2016, 04:21 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 20,805
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2015 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
I use IR (iTach) with the Apple TV and it works perfectly. Since I already had it for another component.... SJ


That works as well only issue no feedback


________________
Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is offline  
post #11046 of 11059 Old 08-16-2016, 04:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,304
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1276 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Just trying to make sure the basics are checked:
- Apple TV and iPad are on the same wifi router
- did you end up entering the code for the Apple TV ( the one you want to control ) and it showed successful


________________
Frank
1. I'm using Ethernet. But yes, Ethernet to APPLE TV is coming from router same router providing wifi to iPad.

2. Yes, I go through the protocol and pair the iPad to the Apple TV and iPad says that it was 'successful'.

Gotta be something I'm missing. Maybe I'll try wifi rather than Ethernet with my Apple TV.

Thanks for the help.

It's back!! Wine of the Week! Clos Martinet Tinto, Priorat DOCa, Spain ~$60. If you've not had a good Priorat, you've not truly tried Spain's smallest, yet most unique terroir.
My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon
thebland is online now  
post #11047 of 11059 Old 08-16-2016, 04:22 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 20,805
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2015 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
The new Apple remote app works well. Similar to Irule one.


________________
Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is offline  
post #11048 of 11059 Old 08-16-2016, 04:28 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 20,805
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2015 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
1. I'm using Ethernet. But yes, Ethernet to APPLE TV is coming from router same router providing wifi to iPad.



2. Yes, I go through the protocol and pair the iPad to the Apple TV and iPad says that it was 'successful'.



Gotta be something I'm missing. Maybe I'll try wifi rather than Ethernet with my Apple TV.



Thanks for the help.


Happened to me too I got successful nothing I factory reset the unit and successful and still no go. Kept trying ( that close in giving up ) and then it worked. I found it takes a number of attempts. Like you I've always updated my Irule and Apple TV.

For my theatre I have a 11" Mac air connected by Ethernet ( bought one of those Apple USB Ethernet thingy mijigs ) Apple TV by Ethernet and download all my rentals and it works great. It's Dolby digital but it works great.


________________
Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is offline  
post #11049 of 11059 Old 08-18-2016, 08:34 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 20,805
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2015 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
1. I'm using Ethernet. But yes, Ethernet to APPLE TV is coming from router same router providing wifi to iPad.



2. Yes, I go through the protocol and pair the iPad to the Apple TV and iPad says that it was 'successful'.



Gotta be something I'm missing. Maybe I'll try wifi rather than Ethernet with my Apple TV.



Thanks for the help.


How did you go Jeff?


________________
Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is offline  
post #11050 of 11059 Old 08-19-2016, 05:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,304
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1276 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
How did you go Jeff?


________________
Frank
I'll try it again.

Funny thing is the iRule support page does not say to 'add a device'.

Yet, on my one working Apple TV, I've added a device (as we discussed).

It's back!! Wine of the Week! Clos Martinet Tinto, Priorat DOCa, Spain ~$60. If you've not had a good Priorat, you've not truly tried Spain's smallest, yet most unique terroir.
My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon
thebland is online now  
post #11051 of 11059 Old 08-19-2016, 05:44 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 20,805
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2015 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
I'll try it again.



Funny thing is the iRule support page does not say to 'add a device'.



Yet, on my one working Apple TV, I've added a device (as we discussed).


I find the support page not much help at times.


________________
Frank
Gator99 and 24Changer like this.

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is offline  
post #11052 of 11059 Old Yesterday, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
roxiedog13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North 48 °
Posts: 1,431
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Harmony remote or go iRule

I already have the Harmony Ultimate running, works and simple but I'm not fond of the little screen which is too sensitive , small and seems to hang/pause too long for my liking.


I have a spare iPad kicking around and thought this would be a great addition to my theater but I'm not in the mood for a major setup and learning curve again. All opinions welcome.


Will use for home theater only , I have Insteon ISY994 controller and lighting in the theater already for Insteon.
Equipment list: JCV RS600 projector, Denon7200Wa, Samsung UB8500 4K player( Oppo coming), Oppo 103D
Lumagen 4440 Pro 4K, HD Fury Integral , Beringer 2 channel amp ( no remote control) , Panamorph DC1 A-lens with electric slide( IR remote) .

Dedicated Theater: JVC X950R/RS600 , Panamorph DC1 Anamorphic Lens, Draper TecVision XT1800X Screen, 2.40:1 132" diagonal curved 36FT radius, Denon X7200WA , 7.2.4 Atmos, Paradigm Monitor 11 fronts, Monitor 3 Center, Monitor V7 Rear, SA-ADP In-wall Surround, Niles DS-7 In-Ceiling, Subwoofers: (4000 watts peak) Klipsch RW-12 + SVS PC13-Ultra
roxiedog13 is offline  
post #11053 of 11059 Old Yesterday, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
24Changer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kannapolis,NC
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxiedog13 View Post
I already have the Harmony Ultimate running, works and simple but I'm not fond of the little screen which is too sensitive , small and seems to hang/pause too long for my liking.


I have a spare iPad kicking around and thought this would be a great addition to my theater but I'm not in the mood for a major setup and learning curve again. All opinions welcome.


Will use for home theater only , I have Insteon ISY994 controller and lighting in the theater already for Insteon.
Equipment list: JCV RS600 projector, Denon7200Wa, Samsung UB8500 4K player( Oppo coming), Oppo 103D
Lumagen 4440 Pro 4K, HD Fury Integral , Beringer 2 channel amp ( no remote control) , Panamorph DC1 A-lens with electric slide( IR remote) .

Go iRule.
I was in a similar position; in my case I was using a Pronto 3500 that just wasn't cutting it more and I put off doing something because of the learning curve. Now I wished I had made the move to iRule sooner. I iRule isn't that difficult in my opinion and their support staff was very helpful with any questions I had. I am controlling all my devices over IP and using an ISY for my Insteon lighting. All is working great.

Creekside Stone Cinema
24Changer is online now  
post #11054 of 11059 Old Yesterday, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
roxiedog13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North 48 °
Posts: 1,431
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by 24Changer View Post
Go iRule.
I was in a similar position; in my case I was using a Pronto 3500 that just wasn't cutting it more and I put off doing something because of the learning curve. Now I wished I had made the move to iRule sooner. I iRule isn't that difficult in my opinion and their support staff was very helpful with any questions I had. I am controlling all my devices over IP and using an ISY for my Insteon lighting. All is working great.

So your iRule controls the Insteon lighting using your ISY controller like the ISY994 that I have ? I'm actually surprised as I thought iRule only worked with Zwave controllers. I've seen ISY controllers that link to Zwave
recently, that looked even more complicated.

Dedicated Theater: JVC X950R/RS600 , Panamorph DC1 Anamorphic Lens, Draper TecVision XT1800X Screen, 2.40:1 132" diagonal curved 36FT radius, Denon X7200WA , 7.2.4 Atmos, Paradigm Monitor 11 fronts, Monitor 3 Center, Monitor V7 Rear, SA-ADP In-wall Surround, Niles DS-7 In-Ceiling, Subwoofers: (4000 watts peak) Klipsch RW-12 + SVS PC13-Ultra
roxiedog13 is offline  
post #11055 of 11059 Old Today, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
24Changer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kannapolis,NC
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxiedog13 View Post
So your iRule controls the Insteon lighting using your ISY controller like the ISY994 that I have?

I am using a ISY994 w/PLM in conjunction with iRule.

Creekside Stone Cinema
24Changer is online now  
post #11056 of 11059 Old Today, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by 24Changer View Post
I am using a ISY994 w/PLM in conjunction with iRule.
Same here. It works very well.

_____
Axel

Axel is online now  
post #11057 of 11059 Old Today, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
roxiedog13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North 48 °
Posts: 1,431
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by 24Changer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxiedog13 View Post
So your iRule controls the Insteon lighting using your ISY controller like the ISY994 that I have?

I am using a ISY994 w/PLM in conjunction with iRule.
Hate to ask but what is PLM?
roxiedog13 is offline  
post #11058 of 11059 Old Today, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
24Changer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kannapolis,NC
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxiedog13 View Post
Hate to ask but what is PLM?
It is a PowerLinc Modem
http://www.smarthome.com/isy994i-hom...-band-plm.html

Creekside Stone Cinema
24Changer is online now  
post #11059 of 11059 Old Today, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NEPA
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 84
for the xfinity users out there. . . .

i'm going to start switching over my older rng x1 platform boxes to the newer 1x and 1gx units. does anyone use these and if so what codes are working? i don't want to go through the trouble of switching out boxes and them not work with irule. i'm only going this route cause i guess they are phasing out the rng units t go with all those newer faceless boxes that run on rf also. they are really pushing the whole voice remote thing heavy right now..

thanks,
jim
jimim is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 3311ci Receiver , Sharp Aquos , Lcd Hdtv , Receivers Amplifiers , Philips Pronto Tsu7000 The Intelligent Remote Control For Home Theater

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off