Harmony 900 programming question about a "step"? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-31-2011, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
todd1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm wanting to program what I believe is called a step.

What I want to do is have a button on my Harmony 900 screen called "My DVR". When I press that button I want it to go to my DVR screen on the Comcast box and then I need to program another step to hit the ENTER button so that it automatically goes into the DVR recording section automatically.

How to?

Ideas?

If I remember correctly I recall someone saying on another site something like I had to relearn a button but do a real quick 2 press of the buttons I want but not sure.

So it would look like this:

One my H900 LCD screen:

"My DVR"

DVR on Comcast
ENTER on Comcast
todd1010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-31-2011, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,648
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 325
One button press that performs many steps is called a macro. Activities and favorites are also macros. But Logitech calls the macro you've described a "sequence". The 900 can't do sequences because Logitech removed that feature from all their new remotes (my $15 remote can still do sequences).

Anyway, you're going to have to hack your way to a sequence by "raw" learning both commands very quickly into one learn like you said. Just go to the learning page and click custom, then click raw and learn a new command called "My DVR", then press DVR followed quickly by ENTER on your Comcast remote. When it's complete, "My DVR" will be in the list of availble commands in your activities that you can then assign to a button or the LCD.

Alternately, will simply pressing DVR twice accomplish the same thing? If so, I'd just do that.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-31-2011, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
todd1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, that is how I've done it in the past.

And your question about the pressing MY DVR twice will not take it to the DVR page I want.
todd1010 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-31-2011, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,272
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 172
When I had a Comcast DVR there was a remote command that pulled up the DVR recording list. Seems like it was called "list". I'd go into device mode on the DVR and try all the soft keys until you find it.

bryansj is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-31-2011, 10:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
todd1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

When I had a Comcast DVR there was a remote command that pulled up the DVR recording list. Seems like it was called "list". I'd go into device mode on the DVR and try all the soft keys until you find it.


I think this is it! I'lll give it a try and let ya know. I have seen this IR command in the list, hopefully it is it!
todd1010 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-01-2012, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
todd1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried the LIST command and it didn't take me to my DVR recordings. It was the same as pushing the MY DVR button. I just need to be able to program an ENTER command after the MY DVR command is sent.
todd1010 is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off