Remote code for Philips HTS3371D for Dish 20.0 IR remote - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-01-2012, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Uglae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Echostar 20.0 IR remote that I am trying to program to mainly adjust the volume of my Philips HTS3371D Home theater system. I've tried the DVD scan and Aux scan for Tuners/Amplifiers and haven't had luck with any of them.

The HTS3371D is a DVD/HT so not sure which option it would be under but I assume AUX would be the correct remote function for it since when on DVD mode the volume button only controls the TV right now.

Anyone had any luck with this remote and this system? Should I just contact Philips or Dish?

Of note, after scanning for the remote code I entered the following codes with no success in AUX and DVD mode.

565
572
577
617
640
672
685
725
733
764
766
873
874

Thanks for any help.
Uglae is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-02-2012, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
In case you don't get any other responses, learning may be the best option in your case. Unlike earlier Dish remotes, the 20.0 and 21.0 can learn.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-02-2012, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Uglae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

In case you don't get any other responses, learning may be the best option in your case. Unlike earlier Dish remotes, the 20.0 and 21.0 can learn.

I knew they it was a learning remote, but can it learn a function if it doesn't currently work with home theater unit at all? I thought that the remote had to be programmed for the unit first, and then the learning part was to learn the other functions of the original remote like the TV menu/input functions for example?
Uglae is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-02-2012, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
I don't think so. The learning feature on every remote I've ever used, including Dish, doesn't care what device code may or may not be assigned. It's just storing a bit pattern from a flashing LED and playing it back when you press the button. Just assign any bogus code to AUX and learn away.
mdavej is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-02-2012, 04:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Uglae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

I don't think so. The learning feature on every remote I've ever used, including Dish, doesn't care what device code may or may not be assigned. It's just storing a bit pattern from a flashing LED and playing it back when you press the button. Just assign any bogus code to AUX and learn away.

Cool, so I should be able to do this on TV mode and be able to adjust the volume without having to push the AUX button first.....Guess I know what I'll be playing around with then.
Uglae is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-02-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 290
I think you still should learn vol in AUX mode, then set the volume punch thru to the AUX device so you can keep TV vol intact should you ever need it.
mdavej is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-02-2012, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Uglae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your help, I'm all set up now! Down to 1 remote until I watch a DVD or Video on USB.
Uglae is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off