Official URC R40 Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 272 Old 01-02-2012, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 448

There doesn't seem to be much information about this remote so i thought i'd start an official thread about it. I've been using an MX-500 for about 6 years and i love it, but i've tried several other fancy remotes in that time (Sony, Philips, a few different Harmonys, etc) but none of them turned out to be as flexible and useful as the MX-500 so i always went back to the MX-500. A few months ago i finally tried their R50 remote for about a week and functionally it looked like it could be a replacement for my MX-500, but i didn't like the feel of it nor it's design so i returned it.

Then a month ago after reading some positive reviews on Amazon i bought the new R40 and after using it for the past month i have finally found a remote that i like better than my MX-500. The R40 is a 2011 model and it appears to be the replacement for their 2008 R50. It's functionally very similar to the older R50 (albeit with some distinct differences) but the R40 has better ergonomics and looks and feels more like a professional remote. The R40 seems to use the same case as their professional MX-780 and TRC-780 models. It feels really solid and the buttons have a nice tactile feel and respond with a soft click. When it's sitting on my desk it doesn't rock or capsize when i press the buttons along the edges - it just stays planted.