Remote Advice: RF or IR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeremysc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone.

I have an Onkyo TX-606 (soon to be replaced), an XBox360, a Scientific Atlanta DVR and a Samsung LCD. We currently use an older Logitech Harmony IR remote which is starting to have issues and I am about to put my A/V components inside a cabinet.

I am wondering whether I should get an RF remote or go with IR and blasters.

1. I am trying out a URC RF20 but after going from my Harmony that remembers the state of devices, this RF20 is a real pain. The macros seem to be useless. My wife will never be able to figure it out if the devices get out of sync with the operating mode (Watch Cable, Watch a DVD, etc.).

2. I saw the Harmony 900 which is nice (and RF) but it is $250.

If you recommend RF, is there anything between the RF20 and the Harmony 900 on the price scale? Is anything going to remember device state when switching modes? Is anything going to be able to use 2-way communication to keep things in the proper mode?

I have an older iPhone I am not using so iOS options are available if you think they solve my problem.

Thanks in advance for your help.

J
jeremysc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-19-2012, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,605
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Another option is to add a Next Generation RF system to almost any remote that takes AA or AAA batteries.

Also, state tracking is unnecessary so long as your devices have discrete power/input commands (most of yours do).
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-19-2012, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeremysc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems like the XBox and the Cable Box have a power toggle rather than a discrete on/off.

I noticed that Next Generation system but my current Harmony doesn't take a AA. Does the Next Generation system work well and - if it does - any recommendations on a remote that can work with it?

Thanks.

J
jeremysc is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-19-2012, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
ekkoville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremysc View Post

It seems like the XBox and the Cable Box have a power toggle rather than a discrete on/off.

I noticed that Next Generation system but my current Harmony doesn't take a AA. Does the Next Generation system work well and - if it does - any recommendations on a remote that can work with it?

Thanks.

J

The cable box is a very frustrating device. That's why when I had cable I never turned it off. There are work arounds if you search but it uses so little power while just sitting there I left it on.

Does the RF50 come with an RF receiver that uses IR emitters to the devices?
ekkoville is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-19-2012, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 169
The XBox has discrete codes available, if you are currently using a Harmony then you have access to them. Just learn them into your other remote if you can't find them.

Most people just leave their cable box on since it is pretty much on when turned "off" anyway, just has the video output disabled.

bryansj is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-19-2012, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeremysc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the tip on the cable box. That's a good idea.

My Harmony only has an on/off toggle (maybe it's too old to have a discrete on/off code).

Assuming I leave the cable box on and can have a discrete on/off for xbox, do you recommend I go IR and - if so - what remote do you recommend?
jeremysc is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-19-2012, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 169
The Harmony database contains a discrete On and Off for an XBox 360 as well as a power toggle. The remote does not matter.

bryansj is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off