Panny ST50 Plasma/URC RF Remote Interference Problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-07-2012, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Howdy all. I have a problem. My new 55" Panasonic ST50 plasma is wreaking havoc with my RF remote control setup. I have a Universal Remote Control MX-900 remote paired with a URC MRF-260 RF base station. When the display is on the remote is unable to communicate with the MRF-260 via RF about 80% of the time. Occasionally I can remedy this by re-positioning the base station, but it's hit or miss. If I power down the display I'm back to full RF communication between the remote and base.

The 260 is BEHIND the TV. I have an Oppo BDP-93 Blu-ray player and an Onkyo receiver plugged directly into the MRF-260 via 3.5mm mini cables and a Toshiba HD-DVD player connected to the base with an IR emitter.

This is driving me nuts! I've tried every channel available on the MRF-260 without good results. I know that plasmas cause IR interference, but I didn't realize that they could be so hard on RF. If anyone has any suggestions as to what I might do to remedy this situation I would REALLY appreciate your input. Thanks!
dpippel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-08-2012, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone?
dpippel is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-09-2012, 07:40 AM
Member
 
lajaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Might be painting myself as Captain Obvious here, but have you considered moving the MRF-260? I use it just fine with a Panny VT30, but is mounted behind the audio cabinet (about 2 feet away from the lower-right corner).

If you don't want to relocate because of the IR lead (wire) would show, you can notch a very thin line in the wall, put the IR wire in the trench and plaster over it (only do this after you know it's working, though).
lajaro is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-09-2012, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestion Captain. That was my next step, but it involved buying some longer cables (which I've now done). I was just hoping to hear from folks who may have had a similar problem.
dpippel is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-15-2012, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think moving it may be what you need to do. I have the 350 which is kind of similar but has a distinct RF receiver. The receiver has an LED to say when it is receiving (junk or valid signals). So I basically moved that around until the LED went out. In my case, I ended up bolting the RF receiver and antenna to the back of one of my speakers so its out of sight, but works just fine.
aymanme is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-21-2012, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased some longer 3.5mm cables and moved the receiver about 6 feet away from the plasma panel. My single IR emitter cable is almost too short to reach, but the relocation resolved the problem. Thanks for the feedback everyone.
dpippel is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off