MX-850 Suddenly Stopped Working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-09-2012, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Poppysplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an MX-850 with an MRF-350. It has been working fine until this morning, when we tried to turn the TVs on. I just changed the batteries on the remote, and when I attempt to make an action, the signal icon lights up on the remote. However, neither the "status" light on the base station, nor the "RF" light on the received light up. I've unplugged the base station, and the "status" light flashes three times when I plug it back in. Any thoughts?
Poppysplace is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-14-2012, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check the connection between the RFX-250 antenna and the MRF-350 base. You might even want to try using the phoenix connector on the MRF-350 instead of the plug. You also need to confirm that the "Power" indicator is on, both with the MRF-350 and the RFX-250. It's possible that the RF transmitter on the MX-850 went out, but it's more likely that it's the RFX-250 that's the problem.

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-15-2012, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try pointing the remote directly at the components and see if that works (i.e. take the MRF out of the picture).
aymanme is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 05-15-2012, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by aymanme View Post

Try pointing the remote directly at the components and see if that works (i.e. take the MRF out of the picture).

This will not necessarily "take the MRF out of the picture." All devices in the program could be set to "RF" and not "IR & RF", meaning that pointing the remote directly at the equipment would not do anything.
cshepard is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off