Advice needed Roomie vs. Harmony Remote - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2012, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
newHTowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

Finally finish with my dual display theaters (drop down SI screen in front of a 60" plasma) with Marantz pre-amp.

I'm struggling with a universal remote. I really like the IP/RS-232 control options with Roommie but also need/want "hard buttons" of a traditional remote.

Any recommendations? What would you guys do - Roomie or Harmony?

Thanks
newHTowner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2012, 04:25 AM
Member
 
jkbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Why pick one when you can do both? I prefer the harmony when watching directv and I am ffwd through the commercials all the time. I just prefer hard buttons. For other things like selecting a movie and watching it I like Roomie on the ipad2.
jkbs is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 223
I use Roomie and I'm loving it.

My Harmony is still here though and still works so if someone can do better with that it's available.
Brian Hampton is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 08:00 AM
Member
 
khiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both and like both for different reasons.

I am using Roomie only now and it is great but I do miss the hard buttons. What swings me to it is that I am using it to control 4 rooms. Being able to "turn off Kitchen" then "turn on TV in bedroom" while on my way upstairs is good.

If you are only doing a single room and want hard buttons I am selling an almost new Harmony 900 in the classifieds for $160 (I would waive the shipping if you wanted it.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/vbcla...do=ad&id=17394

Kevin
khiser is offline  
Old 05-13-2012, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Netko350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Netko350Z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off