Galaxy Tab 2 - built-in IR blaster? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2012, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did some searching and couldn't find what I was looking for. I got an email advertisement from Samsung today about the new Galaxy Tab 2.

In it, it talks about the built-in IR blaster that "turns your tablet into a universal remote control." It also mentions the pre-loaded "Smart Remote App"

Does anyone have any experience with this!?
deArgila is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-24-2012, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Looks like you're right. I did not know it had that feature. I was under the impression the Vizio tablet was one of the few. According to the Amazon description:

Quote:


And with the Smart Remote app and built-in IR Blaster, you can watch and control your TV content--all from the palm of your hand.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Galaxy.../dp/B007P4VOWC

There are a few reviews that discuss it there as well:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/community-c...sin=B007P4VOWC
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if this could replace an ip2ir for something like irule?
deArgila is offline  
Old 05-25-2012, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
remoteshoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
iRule is programmed to communicate to Global Cache devices over the network so it will not be able to utilize the built-in blaster on the Galaxy tab. I do not know what's involved in accessing that blaster but iRule would need to develop for that. The only App that I know of that will access an Android Tab's built-in blaster is the TouchSquid App which has it's own tablet offering and runs a custom Android ROM.

The built-in IR Blaster looks like a nice new feature on tablets but IMO a good advanced control system should not be limited to the line of site that IR requires. TouchSquid, iRule and many more support the GC hardware to give you the flexibility to use your tablet remote anywhere and the reliability to know it will work.

Jim

Jim
remoteshoppe is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
deArgila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The built-in IR blaster would be useful in a situation like mine where I have already invested in existing IR-based system via Xantech and Pronto remote.
deArgila is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 12:18 AM
Member
 
RobAGD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well there is also another option.

the Touchsquid app. They recently released an update that works on the G Tab 2's to function their IR blaster.

But it also will work with the Global Cache Devices, IRtrans and there was another system that I dont recall.

I have been using the Touchsquid app on my Asus Transformer ( no built in IR ) along with a iTach Wifi2IR to run my HT set up.

They have 2 versions of the software Home controls I think 4 devices and Pro is basically unlimited.

There is also a Demo version.

I am running 4 Sony CX995's, 1 Panasonic BR Player, Dynex Switch, Colby DTV Tuner, JVC Radio, Sharp DLP TV - Been working great since December

They also have great customer service. And if you are looking for a tablet they also have a Tab with a built in IR Blaster as well.

-R
RobAGD is offline  
Old 06-03-2012, 08:07 AM
Member
 
zico21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been using the TouchSquid (demo version) app on my Samsung 7 plus for a couple of days and I'm very impressed so far. I have set up two "rooms" (Mitsubishi TV, JVC receiver, Cicso DVR [used Scientific Atlanta codes]) (Vizio TV, Cisco DVR) and everything works great. Favorites screen feature has 4 rows of 6 programmable icons (x 3 pages in the demo version). Each icon can be either a channel, function button or web site.
zico21 is offline  
Old 05-19-2013, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
MikeHill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm working on an Android app 'IR Blaster'. I've just published it in the Android market. The app emulates a Global Cache iTach IR device. When you run the emulator on a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2, iRule should be able to communicate with the emulator and control the built in IR blaster.

Think of 'IR Blaster' as a bridge between remote control apps and built in IR blasters.

I'm interested in getting the IR Blaster app to work with as many devices and remote control apps as possible. If you find 'IR Blaster' does not work for your setup and you're willing to help with testing a new scenario, please send me an email and we can explore what's possible. Thanks!
MikeHill is offline  
Old 07-24-2014, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Touchsquid has just released its latest version called the Touchsquid GR and is available on the Google Play store for a 10-day free trial. It supports Samsung Galaxy Tab and S4, S5 smartphone's built-in IR blaster. It has a very extensive IR remote codes database, and the support team will add codes if you find you have a device that is not in their database.
clarinet is offline  
Old 02-22-2015, 01:16 AM
Member
 
chiquito3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys! I know this is an old thread but would like to know if some of you still use the Touchsquid with the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0.
Is it any good? Can it replace a Harmony One for a Home theater of 6 components?
All your comments will be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
chiquito3 is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 07:58 PM
Member
 
thefreeauction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiquito3 View Post
Hello guys! I know this is an old thread but would like to know if some of you still use the Touchsquid with the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0.
Is it any good? Can it replace a Harmony One for a Home theater of 6 components?
All your comments will be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
I've been using Touchsquid for over a year now on my Tab 2 7 inch. I really like it.


It's not too difficult to setup once you learn how to move around in the settings area. You can add/edit devices, activities, and rooms. You can also set it up to have different profiles.


I have it controlling Kodi (XBMC), a Harman Kardon Receiver, a cable box, a Mitsubishi projector and a Sanyo TV. Not sure what version I have but I'm pretty sure I have the full version that has unlimited devices, activities, etc.


It uses the IR emitter to control the cable box, tv, HK stereo, and the projector. It uses wifi to control Kodi. Eventually I want get all wifi devices so I don't ever have to worry about pointing it at the appropriate device.


I don't really know if it can replace the Harmony One since I've never owned one of those, but I think you can check out Touchsquids forums and check to see if it controls your devices. If there is a free trial like clarinet says, then I'd download it and see if fits your needs.


The only "bad" thing about using it is that you don't get the normal "feel" of a remote when you use it - you always have to look down at it to see the buttons... but so far it controls everything I've thrown at it.


Overall I'd definitely recommend it, once you set it up it's super easy to use.
chiquito3 likes this.

Check out My Projects.
thefreeauction is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 01:48 AM
Member
 
chiquito3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefreeauction View Post
I've been using Touchsquid for over a year now on my Tab 2 7 inch. I really like it.


It's not too difficult to setup once you learn how to move around in the settings area. You can add/edit devices, activities, and rooms. You can also set it up to have different profiles.


I have it controlling Kodi (XBMC), a Harman Kardon Receiver, a cable box, a Mitsubishi projector and a Sanyo TV. Not sure what version I have but I'm pretty sure I have the full version that has unlimited devices, activities, etc.


It uses the IR emitter to control the cable box, tv, HK stereo, and the projector. It uses wifi to control Kodi. Eventually I want get all wifi devices so I don't ever have to worry about pointing it at the appropriate device.


I don't really know if it can replace the Harmony One since I've never owned one of those, but I think you can check out Touchsquids forums and check to see if it controls your devices. If there is a free trial like clarinet says, then I'd download it and see if fits your needs.


The only "bad" thing about using it is that you don't get the normal "feel" of a remote when you use it - you always have to look down at it to see the buttons... but so far it controls everything I've thrown at it.


Overall I'd definitely recommend it, once you set it up it's super easy to use.
Thanks for the reply. Are you using the Galaxy Tab 2 with a stock or a custom rom? If it is costum witch one are you using?

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
chiquito3 is offline  
Old 02-26-2015, 06:32 PM
Member
 
thefreeauction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiquito3 View Post
Thanks for the reply. Are you using the Galaxy Tab 2 with a stock or a custom rom? If it is costum witch one are you using?

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk


I'm using the stock ROM.
chiquito3 likes this.

Check out My Projects.
thefreeauction is offline  
 

Tags
Global Cache Ip2ir Itach Wired Tcp Ip To Ir
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off