Next Generation Remote Extender won't stop sending commands - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2012, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mullet34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used to love this unit until it started doing this crap with my HK AVR-254. At random times when I hit the Volume Up or Volume Down buttons on my remote, the Next Gen extender keeps sending a up or down command. The only way I can stop it is to unplug the power from the unit. Has anyone else run into this? It's driving me crazy and I don't know whether the unit has gone bad or it's just some quirk with my setup.
mullet34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2012, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet34 View Post

I used to love this unit until it started doing this crap with my HK AVR-254. At random times when I hit the Volume Up or Volume Down buttons on my remote, the Next Gen extender keeps sending a up or down command. The only way I can stop it is to unplug the power from the unit. Has anyone else run into this? It's driving me crazy and I don't know whether the unit has gone bad or it's just some quirk with my setup.

I've started to get this effect recently as well using it with my cable DVR.
It worked fine for a couple years at least.
Joxer is offline  
Old 07-12-2012, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mullet34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joxer View Post

I've started to get this effect recently as well using it with my cable DVR.
It worked fine for a couple years at least.

Have you found any fix for it? I've only had this thing for 7 months.
mullet34 is offline  
Old 07-12-2012, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet34 View Post

Have you found any fix for it? I've only had this thing for 7 months.
Not so far, just reset it (power off/on) every day or so.
Joxer is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 07:51 AM
Vin
AVS Special Member
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet34 View Post

Have you found any fix for it? I've only had this thing for 7 months.

It might be that the signal is too strong > http://www.nextgen.us/Articles.asp?ID=136

If you determine that it's defective you should be able to get it replaced under warranty.

Vin
Vin is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mullet34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vin View Post

It might be that the signal is too strong > http://www.nextgen.us/Articles.asp?ID=136
If you determine that it's defective you should be able to get it replaced under warranty.
Yeah, I saw that article, but I've actually found this happens when the battery is low. When I swap it out with a freshly charged one from the unit, the behavior stops (I'm using the remote from the same spot before and after).
mullet34 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off