URC-R50 wont learn PS3 commands from Harmony One - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-01-2012, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mde8965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have a PS3 with the Harmony adapter. I have my current Harmony One programmed with the correct codeset and it works fine. I'm replacing the Harmony with the R50. I tried having the R50 learn all the commands from my Harmony One, but none of them work. I tried learning several times.

Am I missing something? There is no reason I can think of that this shouldn't work with the possible exception of the Power Off macro.

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated...

Main System: Denon AVR-4311ci; Emo XPA-5, Panasonic TC-P65ST50, Oppo BDP93, PS2&3, Wii, Sonos Connect, Mede8er, Roku 3
Ascend RAAL Towers, RAAL Horizon Center, Sierra 2's (surround), Def Tec SM350's (rear surrounds), 2 Rythmik F15's
2 other systems: 1 Onkyo, 1 Denon, Paradigm Studio V1 and V2 speakers, Panasonic Plasmas, etc.
mde8965 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-02-2012, 01:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,222
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2020 Post(s)
Liked: 909
My understanding is that Harmony's PS3 protocol is unique and very difficult to learn. If the R50 is like most remotes, it will attempt to match learns to a known protocol. If that fails, then the learns won't work.

You may want to consider using HDMI CEC or a different adapter. Many cheap adapters like the $15 Nyko use standard sony DVD codes which are built in to your R50. The drawback is those cheap adapters won't do power. But you could build macros for Off. HDMI CEC works very well and doesn't require an adapter at all.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 08-03-2012, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mde8965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks so much for your reply mdavej.

I think I will pick up the Nyko adapter since its cheap. That will get me all I need except power on. Easy macro for the turn off. Thanks again...

Main System: Denon AVR-4311ci; Emo XPA-5, Panasonic TC-P65ST50, Oppo BDP93, PS2&3, Wii, Sonos Connect, Mede8er, Roku 3
Ascend RAAL Towers, RAAL Horizon Center, Sierra 2's (surround), Def Tec SM350's (rear surrounds), 2 Rythmik F15's
2 other systems: 1 Onkyo, 1 Denon, Paradigm Studio V1 and V2 speakers, Panasonic Plasmas, etc.
mde8965 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off