New Logitech Harmony Touch - Page 18 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 527 Old 02-28-2014, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
polo2883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Did logitech discontinue the harmony touch?  Its not listed on their website anymore.

polo2883 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 527 Old 02-28-2014, 08:35 AM
Member
 
skater2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Yes, it is discontinued. Some people found a link to a new "Harmony Ultimate One" remote on Amazon, that will be released on March 5. It is basically a Harmony Ultimate without the hub. No information on whether you can add a hub later, like you can with a Touch.
skater2 is offline  
post #513 of 527 Old 02-28-2014, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
polo2883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I was just curious.  I already have a Logitech Harmony Ultimate

polo2883 is offline  
post #514 of 527 Old 02-28-2014, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler webb View Post

The people that are complaining about the harmony touch and ultimate are either really stuck in there ways or not tech savy at all (and I mean less teck savy than my 2 year old). It works perfectly as advertised and is easier to set up than an ipad! extremly happy with my touch.

Ummm.... No!

 

The issues with the Touch, Ultimate and Ultimate One have nothing to do with their tech or the user's tech savviness.  They program and function just fine.  It's the ergonomics that suck... big time. 

 

The One, 700 & 650 all share a similar physical button layout that is near perfection for one handed operation by feel alone.    Even though I prefer the hard number buttons of that series, I could probably live without them.  It's the idiotic placement of the transport buttons above the touch screen that is the unforgivable sin of these newer models.  Bye-bye to one-handed operation... hello to unintended touch screen presses.

 

Crappy ergonomics (relative to previous models) aside, they are very nice remotes, and I can see how they can be attractive to someone without a lot of experience with a One.  However, they are undoubtedly a step backwards to anyone who has any experience with a One.  Like others here, I have been buying up Ones, 650s and 700s to be able to continue enjoying them.  I'm not stuck in my ways... I've upgraded/adapted to several generations of Harmony (and other) remotes.  I just don't appreciate change made for changes' sake alone, especially when the change actually represents a huge step backwards from what came before.


Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #515 of 527 Old 02-28-2014, 10:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,160
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 417
+1
Another deal breaker for me is the clunky skip/search on the same button. Terrible idea. Sure the remote looks nice, but is essentially unusable to me as it can't be used by feel. No Harmony with Ultimate or Touch in the name for me.

Reminds me a lot of the Win 8 argument. Most recognize it sucks on every level. But supporters insist we are simply dinosaurs who can't adapt to new things. Nothing could be further from the truth.
mdavej is offline  
post #516 of 527 Old 02-28-2014, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
DustinLH00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I understand a lot of the complaints being made about the remote, I really do. And I would not go as far as to say that those who do not like it are unable to adapt or are not tech savvy. I will, however, state that most of these design changes can be adjusted to after using the remote for a period of time. I have a feeling that some people on here just picked up the remote and tried to use it for a day or two and gave up because they struggled. Others probably don't even own it and are just repeating reviews they have read by others.

I have owned the Ultimate for nearly a year now and I am able to operate the remote with just one hand, without looking at it, and almost never inadvertently touch the screen by accident. Yes, the ergonomics are different and the remote does not feel as comfortable in your hand, but I have adjusted to the new button layout and screen location and use the remote daily just fine. I never get upset at it or regret the purchase.

I realize everyone has a right to their comments, but I just wanted to point out that I think some of this is just a matter of adjusting.

Energy RC-70s (2) | Energy RC-LCR | Energy CB-5s (4) | SVS PB-2000 | Pioneer VSX-1020K | Samsung UN65F8000 | PS3 | PS4 | Apple TV (2nd gen) | DirecTV HR34 HMC | Harmony Ultimate
DustinLH00 is offline  
post #517 of 527 Old 02-28-2014, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Reminds me a lot of the Win 8 argument...

Don't get me started...:D


Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #518 of 527 Old 03-07-2014, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
John Meno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Staten Island N.Y.
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just wish they would fix the fact that you still hit that button on the lower right of the screen that ends up making adjustments to the setup in order to fix any problems. It's impossible to avoid hitting it bc It's the first place your thumb inadvertintely touches whenever handling the remote. If that button was on the upper left corner, it would make the remote perfect and better than the "One" in my opinion.
John Meno is offline  
post #519 of 527 Old 03-11-2014, 04:02 PM
Newbie
 
red_fork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just got the harmony touch remote as a replacement for the damaged harmony one. I'm very happy with the remote's funcionality and capabilities but I have problem with the quality of the housing. One of the latches (on right side under the screen) is loose so the entire case creaks when I use the screen or buttons. Has anyone met with such a problem. I have a 'new' model with the 'harmony' inscription instead of 'logitech' - I'm wondering if it is only problem with my remote or maybe the whole new batch has such quality problem?
red_fork is offline  
post #520 of 527 Old 03-11-2014, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
DustinLH00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by red_fork View Post

I've just got the harmony touch remote as a replacement for the damaged harmony one. I'm very happy with the remote's funcionality and capabilities but I have problem with the quality of the housing. One of the latches (on right side under the screen) is loose so the entire case creaks when I use the screen or buttons. Has anyone met with such a problem. I have a 'new' model with the 'harmony' inscription instead of 'logitech' - I'm wondering if it is only problem with my remote or maybe the whole new batch has such quality problem?

I have the Ultimate and do not have this issue.

Energy RC-70s (2) | Energy RC-LCR | Energy CB-5s (4) | SVS PB-2000 | Pioneer VSX-1020K | Samsung UN65F8000 | PS3 | PS4 | Apple TV (2nd gen) | DirecTV HR34 HMC | Harmony Ultimate
DustinLH00 is offline  
post #521 of 527 Old 03-11-2014, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
jnnt29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinLH00 View Post


I have the Ultimate and do not have this issue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by red_fork View Post

I've just got the harmony touch remote as a replacement for the damaged harmony one. I'm very happy with the remote's funcionality and capabilities but I have problem with the quality of the housing. One of the latches (on right side under the screen) is loose so the entire case creaks when I use the screen or buttons. Has anyone met with such a problem. I have a 'new' model with the 'harmony' inscription instead of 'logitech' - I'm wondering if it is only problem with my remote or maybe the whole new batch has such quality problem?

I have had the touch for a year and a half and have no issues with the housing.
jnnt29 is online now  
post #522 of 527 Old 06-28-2014, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
hikouka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Central NY
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
really getting tired of this thing dying suddenly...

the battery icon eventually goes down to what appears to be 'half' then at some point you get the dreaded 'low battery' screen and it shuts down

would be nice if it gave you more warning or proper indication of battery level

Hey, I'm a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class
Especially since I rule.
hikouka is offline  
post #523 of 527 Old 06-30-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by hikouka View Post
really getting tired of this thing dying suddenly...

the battery icon eventually goes down to what appears to be 'half' then at some point you get the dreaded 'low battery' screen and it shuts down

would be nice if it gave you more warning or proper indication of battery level
Same here. I'd commented that I had no battery indicator, but obviously I do. It's just really hard to see with a lighter background image.

And yeah, it was half battery on Tuesday night, and DEAD on Friday when I went to use it. I'm glad to have the Android app, or I'd have to go back to factory remotes often.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #524 of 527 Old 10-15-2014, 03:21 PM
Member
 
rstambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northeast
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi,

I have the 880 and love it. Been using it for years. Recently my local Costco has gotten a whole pallet of Touch's for cheap. Was thinking of getting one for my less complicated AV setup in the basement.

I understand the two differences from the Ultimate and touch, haptic feedback and tilt sensor.

What I like about the 880 is dedicated 30sec skip and replay buttons. It looks like (from reading through this thread and other forums) that with a recent firmware update, you can program the FF and RW buttons for long/short presses to achieve a sort of dedicated 30sec skip and replay.

is that correct? Otherwise are they displayed on the touch screen area as soft buttons?

I want to be keep the regular FF and RW but would also like hard keys for 30sec skip and REPLAY buttons as well.

Any guidance/experience would be great.
Thanks
Ron
rstambo is offline  
post #525 of 527 Old 10-15-2014, 03:34 PM
Member
 
dave_con's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hobart, Australia
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstambo View Post
Hi,

is that correct? Otherwise are they displayed on the touch screen area as soft buttons?
That is correct. I have the touch - bought it a year or so ago (maybe two? I forget...), and before that I had the 1000. I love the touch - find it great for our set up, and yes with the recent firmware update, the FF and RW buttons are now set to FF/RW for a short push, and chapter skip for a long push.
dave_con is offline  
post #526 of 527 Old 11-02-2014, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
blackangst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
My local Costcos are carrying the Touch for $169 right now. My 880 is failing and Im considering getting one. Sure I will miss the buttons, but thats just an adjustment. I was considering the 650, but I learned on the logitech forum the device turn-on order cannot be changed using the pre-assigned hotkeys, and thats a deal killer for me. My receiver HAS to be powered up FIRST otherwise I get HDMI handshake issues.

Anyway looks like a good price.

edit: looking through the Harmony forums, I found this thread with tips and tricks for the Touch. Looks like if properly set up it would solve many concerns over lack of physical buttons: http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Harmon...ch/td-p/897664

Last edited by blackangst; 11-02-2014 at 10:12 AM.
blackangst is offline  
post #527 of 527 Old 11-04-2014, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
HarmonySylvain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackangst View Post
I learned on the logitech forum the device turn-on order cannot be changed using the pre-assigned hotkeys, and thats a deal killer for me. My receiver HAS to be powered up FIRST otherwise I get HDMI handshake issues.
This is incorrect - you can edit the order in which devices power on (and off) for each Activity for the 650 as well.

Regards,

Sylvain

______________________________________________
I am an employee of Logitech's Harmony division.
Click here to join the Harmony Beta Community!
For questions, help or support, please visit Harmony's support site
HarmonySylvain is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off