Covering IR Sensors - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-14-2012, 05:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dnoyeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southfield, MI
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a pioneer vsx-52. It claims the front sensor has reduced priority over the IR input. This is all fine but apparently the signals have to arrive within ms for an override. Else I just get a doubled action.

So now I need to cover the front IR sensor. Any ideas on what to use that can cover that but won't otherwise damage my receiver with sticky ugliness that wont come off. Also, that looks good and is preferably black?

I also need some sticky stuff for my IR repeaters. I need to re-stick over the sensors. And I would probably want to tape over the repeater that is taped over the sensor, again, to block the double reception.

I know what your thinking. If I have all this reception, why do I even need a repeater. Its because the reception is spotty. Using the repeater makes it work but then you have spotty double receptions.


thanks

Signature.
dnoyeB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-14-2012, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 55
cantrellsmedia likes this.

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-14-2012, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dnoyeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southfield, MI
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. I was due for another roll of black tape anyway...

Signature.
dnoyeB is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-14-2012, 09:53 AM
DGF
Senior Member
 
DGF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 39
....or maybe pop the cover and do the blanking on the inside of the panel?
DGF is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-15-2012, 04:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
mborner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm a little confused about your application. Why are you using the rear IR input if you already have IR going through the front sensor? Use one, or the other, not both. The rear input is designed to be used by a 3rd party controller in which you would eliminate the original remote. If you are using a third party control system, why are you still using the original remote? If you're not using the original remote, what is it that you have that is sending IR signals to the front sensor? IOW, why are you using both? You could eliminate your issues completely by just using one IR input, not both.
remoteshoppe likes this.
mborner is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-15-2012, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yup, pop the cover off and tape over the IR receiver with black electrical tape.
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off