URC MX Editor software update - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-31-2012, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jongig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have many MX remotes and I have the software dated 2007. I purchased a new TV and a Integra 80.3 and I was wondering if I can get the IR database update from somewhere.

I checked the URC website but they only offer the manual.

I'd appreciate the help.
jongig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-31-2012, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The MX-Editor software is specific to the remote. Which remote are you trying to update?
dalto is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-03-2013, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Jamie E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
URC replaced the remote-specific MX Editor software with a new software package called Complete Control Program. Unfortunately, they stopped all updates for MX Editor years ago, and left the "legacy" remotes in the dust with it. Best bet is to do the brute force method of learning each function. It's not too hard once you get in the swing of things.

Movies look their best when they look like movies. More Patton-esque remasters!

Jamie E is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-04-2013, 12:33 AM
Senior Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie E View Post

URC replaced the remote-specific MX Editor software with a new software package called Complete Control Program. Unfortunately, they stopped all updates for MX Editor years ago, and left the "legacy" remotes in the dust with it. Best bet is to do the brute force method of learning each function. It's not too hard once you get in the swing of things.

Actually, not all remotes are in the CCP and the some of the MX-Editors, if you have the right versions, still provide db updates.
dalto is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-05-2013, 05:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jongig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies. I have 4 MX-850 remotes and two MX-700 remotes. They all function the same and I have enjoyed them and the software. Since my house is using RF and many TVs are Samsung they work great by locally using only IR for the TV and then RF for other devices.

What I noticed years ago was that the codes for units like my Samsung had commands that were not on the original remote and that's why I like to get the files. I always hated using the "source" button on the remote and then I found Samsung had codes for HDMI-1 and so fourth. It made setting up macros really easy.

If I don't find updates I guess I'll work with what I have.
jongig is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-05-2013, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The NX-RM820 editor while not totally up to date should be newer than what you have now and work fine with your remotes.

It is freely available for download if you google it.
dalto is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off