Free ios/android app to test global cache device? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-13-2013, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
wallace4793's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm looking for a free app to test the gc100 I have bought. I imagine looking at irule as a longer term option but would like a free app to play with first.

wallace4793 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 Old 01-13-2013, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
Steve Goff's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Olympia, WA, USA
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 140
I don't know of a free app to test your iTach but you can use Fing to make sure that you've correctly connected it to you network.

Steve Goff
Steve Goff is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-14-2013, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
DGF's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 39
IIRC doesn't iRule (and maybe DemoPad) offer free trials? You could kill two birds with one stone!

You've probably seen this, but if it's just basic connectivity testing you want to do, Global Cache has a crude windows-based app (iHelp) that will confirm everything is hooked up correctly and talking:
DGF is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-14-2013, 10:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
jautor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NW Houston, TX
Posts: 10,209
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1084 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Yeah, use iHelp... You don't want another app in the chain of things until you know that you've got the backend working. If you're using IR codes (as opposed to RS232 or contact closures), I'd highly recommend using an emitter with a visible LED, or one of the Xantech "Test IR" (just an LED that acts like an emitter), so you know that you're getting "something" at the outputs.

I struggled for a while when you don't know if 1) the GC received the command, 2) the output configuration is correct, or 3) the IR codes are correct... Having a visible LED on the emitter at least tells you that #1 and #2 are working, so the problem is #3. biggrin.gif


Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
jautor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Reply Remote Control Area


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off