Odd problem with Harmony one and Lutron dimmer switch. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-14-2013, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Prime316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I programmed the remote to turn off the lights in the room when starting a movie. This seems to work whether or not the lights are already on. If they are already off they are turned on and off again. Not sure why this is.

The problem comes when I end the activity where I added a subroutine of turning the lights on. When I end the activity, all of my components turn off but the lights will actually come on and go off again. I'm not sure why this is happening. I at first thought the signal was being sent too many times so I went into the software and reduced the number of times the signal is sent to 0. I still have the problem though.

Anyone have any ideas?

Projector: Benq W1070 1080p 2D/3D
Screen: 120" Elite fixed frame
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR809
Mains: Klipsch RF-62ii x 2
Center: Klipsch RC-62ii
Surrounds: Klipsch RS-42ii x 2
Subs: Dual Hsu VTF-15H's
Sonos-Play 5 and Play 3
Sony Playstation 4
Microsoft Xbox One
Prime316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-15-2013, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Prime316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 121
No one?

Projector: Benq W1070 1080p 2D/3D
Screen: 120" Elite fixed frame
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR809
Mains: Klipsch RF-62ii x 2
Center: Klipsch RC-62ii
Surrounds: Klipsch RS-42ii x 2
Subs: Dual Hsu VTF-15H's
Sonos-Play 5 and Play 3
Sony Playstation 4
Microsoft Xbox One
Prime316 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-15-2013, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
dharel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
The issue in your second paragraph sounds like you have the remote set to turn the lights off during power off (when you press the off button). So basically you stop the movie and turn the lights on, then power off and the lights turn off. This can be controlled in the software.

It could also be that your play movie sequence is programmed with both on and off commands for the lights.

I have the same remote and dimmer, and do exactly what your trying to accomplish without issues.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dharel is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-15-2013, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Prime316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by dharel View Post

The issue in your second paragraph sounds like you have the remote set to turn the lights off during power off (when you press the off button). So basically you stop the movie and turn the lights on, then power off and the lights turn off. This can be controlled in the software.

It could also be that your play movie sequence is programmed with both on and off commands for the lights.

I have the same remote and dimmer, and do exactly what your trying to accomplish without issues.



In my opening sequence, I have the lutron dimmer set to 'on' and then the 'all lights off' command is sent.

Wait, the only other option I have after starting the movie, to turn the lights on but this is before the power goes out. I think that's where my problem is.

How do I get the lights on option to work after the other pieces of equipment have powered off?

Projector: Benq W1070 1080p 2D/3D
Screen: 120" Elite fixed frame
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR809
Mains: Klipsch RF-62ii x 2
Center: Klipsch RC-62ii
Surrounds: Klipsch RS-42ii x 2
Subs: Dual Hsu VTF-15H's
Sonos-Play 5 and Play 3
Sony Playstation 4
Microsoft Xbox One
Prime316 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-16-2013, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
dharel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
By adding the Lutron to an activity the Harmony remote will turn the lights on. This is because any device added into an activity is told to be turned on by the Harmony.

As a workaround, you can remove the power commands from the Lutron, and then manually control the power yourself from within the activity. To do this, click on 'Devices' tab, and then 'Settings' of the Lutron. Choose 'Adjust Power' and then set it to Manually controlled power.

This will allow you to add the Lutron into any activity and not have the Harmony send On/Off commands at all. You can then program your startup and stop sequences to turn off/on the lights.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dharel is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-16-2013, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
speavler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I just bought one of these lutron dimmers and mine did the same thing. i think what i did to solve it was to go into the lutron device settings and select "always on"...or something like that. that stopped the remote from sending on/off signals when starting or leaving an activity (other than the commands you manually add).
speavler is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-17-2013, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Prime316's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Thanks guys for the help. Speavler, you nailed it. I went into the options for the lighting and left in on at all times and now it works perfectly.

Projector: Benq W1070 1080p 2D/3D
Screen: 120" Elite fixed frame
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR809
Mains: Klipsch RF-62ii x 2
Center: Klipsch RC-62ii
Surrounds: Klipsch RS-42ii x 2
Subs: Dual Hsu VTF-15H's
Sonos-Play 5 and Play 3
Sony Playstation 4
Microsoft Xbox One
Prime316 is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off