Harmony One switching back to "Activities" mode and/or shutting off. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-26-2013, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Miami Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After a couple of years of great use with my Harmony One its starting to act-up.

We click on any one of the activities and it goes to the activity just fine. Then during the TV/movie/music experience, for no apparent reason, the remote goes back to the activity menu. Obviousely at this point I cant click the volume, channel or menu because its back to activities. I then have to click on the activity again and it starts up everything again. On occasions it shuts down giving me a black screen which forces me to take off the battery and "jump start it".

I've connected it to the PC, logged on to the Harmony page and hoped some kind of update would happen, but no luck.

Any ideas?
Miami Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-27-2013, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Sounds like your remote has lived its life and its better days are now behind it. Time to get another remote. If it is less than two years old and you paid for it with a credit card then your credit card company may have a warranty protection plan that adds another year onto the warranty. I've had to use that twice with my Harmony 880 and 890 while my other 880 and 890 died within the first year so that was a RMA replacement.

bryansj is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-27-2013, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Miami Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think the main reason it may have to be replaced is the kids (actually that the story of my old 720 too). They shut off the system, or walk away, and tend to toss the remote onto the sofa. I can hear something tinny lose inside, so that may be part of the problem. Its older than 2 years so I'll call Logitech (who apparently is selling the Harmony line, scary) to see if they offer me anything.

Thanks.
Miami Guy is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-27-2013, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 172
The small loose thing could be the part of the sensor that wakes up the remote. The 880 and 890 I know used something that rattled around when shaken to wake the remote.

My Harmony remote(s) really started dying once we replaced our carpet with wood flooring. The URC has been rock solid since I jumped the Harmony ship.

bryansj is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-27-2013, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Miami Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
URC...?
Miami Guy is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-27-2013, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miami Guy View Post

URC...?

URC MX-980 remote with MRF-350 RF base.

bryansj is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-27-2013, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Miami Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
$400 uuff.....

Rather keep my Harmony (cross my fingers).
Miami Guy is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off