Remote or IR sensor? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-30-2013, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wilhelm1202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I have a Vizio VL470M television that is out of warranty and I've been having some issues with what I thought was the IR sensor, but now I'm not sure. I noticed that when I was using the Vizio remote it would control the TV for about 30 seconds just after the initial start up and then I would have no control from the TV remote at all. I verified that the remote is sending a signal by looking at the front through a digital camera, which showed a blinking light when buttons were pressed. I then removed the back from the TV and cleaned the IR sensor and also the protective covering on the front of the TV, this did not help. I purchased a replacement IR sensor online and installed that and now am still having the same issue. I've tried to program the cable remote to control the TV (which I assume would be similar to using a universal remote) but it will not program to the tv, probably for the same reason the other remote wont work. Does anyone have any suggestions of other things I could try or what else it might be? Thanks for your help!
wilhelm1202 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-30-2013, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Have you done the obvious thing by replacing the remote's batteries?

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-30-2013, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wilhelm1202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I have tried that.
wilhelm1202 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-31-2013, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
A lot of tv's also have a "flashing status" indicator when an IR event / signalling is happening... hopefully the vizio has one... if so, does it do anything???

Have you tried doing a factory reset on the TV?
budwich is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off