Need an inexpensive learning remote to use with Windows media center - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-13-2013, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dpohlma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have A Ceton Echo and need a new WMC remote. I want one that will also run my LG TV. Just need power and volume control for the TV. Are there any WMC remotes that "learn"? Something inexpensive which rules out Logitech. Thanks
dpohlma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 02-13-2013, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 161
What price is inexpensive? $20 or $2?

bryansj is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 02-15-2013, 06:06 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dpohlma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
under $40 . I just don't want to shell out money for an other logitech harmony.
dpohlma is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 02-15-2013, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
I prefer JP1 remotes like the $9 RCA RCRP05BR because you can easily add nearly any command to any button without learning (although it can learn as well). You can also program it from a PC or Mac like harmony if you buy/build an interface cable. The MCE codes on that remote are CBL 1272, DVD 1972 and a few others (search THIS list for Windows MCE protocol to see them all). The RCA also has the advantage of full macro (activity) functionality, device specific volume punch thru, device specific macros, multi macros, favorites and shifted functions (effectively doubling the number of buttons). With a cable you get even more functionality like unlimited devices, conditional branching, 5 functions per button, unlimited macro steps, state tracking and more. It's really an incredibly powerful remote for the money, more powerful than many remotes costing hundreds of dollars.
mdavej is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 02-15-2013, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 335
The URC WR7 is learning and has punch-through for TV volume and some basic macro support. $20...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 04-20-2013, 02:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

I prefer JP1 remotes like the $9 RCA RCRP05BR because you can easily add nearly any command to any button without learning (although it can learn as well). You can also program it from a PC or Mac like harmony if you buy/build an interface cable. The MCE codes on that remote are CBL 1272, DVD 1972 and a few others (search THIS list for Windows MCE protocol to see them all). The RCA also has the advantage of full macro (activity) functionality, device specific volume punch thru, device specific macros, multi macros, favorites and shifted functions (effectively doubling the number of buttons). With a cable you get even more functionality like unlimited devices, conditional branching, 5 functions per button, unlimited macro steps, state tracking and more. It's really an incredibly powerful remote for the money, more powerful than many remotes costing hundreds of dollars.

mdavej,

Very interesting post indeed. I checked the RCA RCRP05BR and it has the button placement I'm looking for. We just got a Cisco ISB7050 whole house DVR. Since 99% of what I watch is recorded on the DVR, I'm constantly using the VCR controls to skip commercials or pausing to get a snack or answer the phone. So I want the VCR controls up near the front of the remote where they are easy to press, just like how the RCRP05BR has them.

The problem I'm facing is that I need to view captions once in a while, but the captions in the Cisco DVR is buried 20 button presses in the menu. (yes, 20 steps, I counted them.) So a macro needs to have 21 steps to turn on captions (20 to turn on + exit). It also needs 21 steps to turn off captions. Can the RCRP05BR hold 21 steps per macro via manual programming?

Or do I need to buy a JP1 interface cable to get 21 steps per macro? If so, where can I buy one that's a safe seller?
And where do I download the software that can run on a Windows 7 PC?

Thanks,
Skylark
Skylark is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 04-20-2013, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Macros are 15 steps without a cable, unlimited with a cable.

See this post for you other questions:
http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/viewtopic.php?p=48820#p48820
mdavej is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 04-20-2013, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Macros are 15 steps without a cable, unlimited with a cable.

See this post for you other questions:
http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/viewtopic.php?p=48820#p48820

I checked out the links and have a few questions:

1. Once a FTDI FT232RL USB to Serial adapter cable is converted to a JP1 cable, will Windows 7 automatically load the driver for it on boot up?

2. Is this the software you recommend: RemoteMaster.v2.02.zip (1.8 MB).

3. Assuming items 1 & 2 above are correct, when I install and run "RemoteMaster", will I then be able to do all of the changes to the RCA remote you recommend? Or will I have to download some additional files?

Thanks for your help,
Skylark
Skylark is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 04-21-2013, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
1. I personally haven't used that particular cable, but FTDI drivers are typically built in, IR at least easily downloadable. I've never had to download a driver for my win7 systems.

2. Yes

3. You also need RDF files, Maps and Images and the Extender program for the RCA.

Check out the wiki in my signature and ask your remaining questions at hifi-remote when all the JP1 experts and developers hang out.
mdavej is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 04-21-2013, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

1. I personally haven't used that particular cable, but FTDI drivers are typically built in, IR at least easily downloadable. I've never had to download a driver for my win7 systems.

2. Yes

3. You also need RDF files, Maps and Images and the Extender program for the RCA.

Check out the wiki in my signature and ask your remaining questions at hifi-remote when all the JP1 experts and developers hang out.

Thanks for your help. I'll follow your advice.
Skylark
Skylark is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Pulling up an old thread, but I figured this was relevant. I am trying to program my RCRP05BR to work my XBOX 360 I'm using as an extender. I can get it to power on (obviously), but I can't control it using Windows MCE code. I found some threads on Google stating it can be done, but no instructions on HOW it is done. Anyone have a code or assistance that'll get me pointed the right directon?
What setup code at least powers it on, DVD 1972? If so, below are the EFCs. If 1972 doesn't work, post the setup code that currently at least powers it on and off.
Code:
0    00018
1       00010
2       00034
3       00026
4       00242
5       00234
6       00002
7       00250
8       00082
9       00074
100     00170
vol up  00146
vol down        00138
mute    00066
ch/pg + 00162
ch/pg - 00154
power   00050
enter   00090
dvd menu        00243
up arrow        00194
down arrow      00186
left arrow      00019
right arrow     00011
select  00035
display 00056
play    00130
pause   00210
rewind  00106
fast fwd        00114
stop    00202
record  00122
input toggle    00098
next track      00226
prev track      00218
open / close    00083
A / green       00001
B / red 00235
X / blue        00081
Y / yellow      00003
SILVER X        00241
back    00027
title   00136
start   (the green button) 00042
info    00058
replay  00178
power on        00075
power off       00099

These codes are called advanced codes or EFCs. To assign one to a button, in DVD mode, hold Setup for 2 blinks, 994, tap Setup followed by the 5 digit EFC, then press the button you want to assign, 2 blinks for success. Repeat for the other codes. If you use DVD setup code 1972, most of the functions should work already, and you only need to assign a few more. Also make sure the Xbox itself is set up for the Media remote codes.

Here's how to do a lot more: http://www.hifi-remote.com/wiki/index.php?title=Manual_Programming_-_9xx_Commands

And if you want to program it like a Harmony, just pick up a JP1.3 cable from ebay for about $8 and download Remote Master from the above site. That's how I program my RCA, and it controls my HTPC, Xbox, Echo and about a dozen other devices in my home theater via about 20 activities.
mdavej is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Thank you, the cable is the way to go for me. I have 2 of these to program, and more on the way.

I don't see any JP1.3 cables on ebay at that price. $25-30 is what I'm seeing.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Thank you, the cable is the way to go for me. I have 2 of these to program, and more on the way.

I don't see any JP1.3 cables on ebay at that price. $25-30 is what I'm seeing.
When you get your cable, just load the Xbox Media Remote upgrade.

Here's a typical $8 JP1.3 cable: http://www.ebay.com/itm/261101529602?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

Assemble like so: http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=108684#108684
mdavej is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-24-2013, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Thanks again! Cable ordered. Looking forward to tinkering with these.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Rca Rcrp05br 5 Device Cable Replacement Universal Remote Black , Universal Remote Control Urc Wr7 7 Device Remote Control With 4 Favorite Channel Buttons

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off