Need help choosing a universal remote! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 02-15-2013, 11:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Morning, New to the forum and could use some seasoned opinions. I have a very simple setup: Dish Network Sat DVR > Panasonic TC60GT50 > Denon AVR 1913 > Sony Blu-Ray. I previously had a URC 500 but it does not support my new setup. I would like a unit that is easy to setup, navigate and not crazy expensive. Any help would be appreciated!
sjturbo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 02-16-2013, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
bizwiz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The full question is: what do you want this remote to do? Are you the only one using this remote, or does it need to be "family friendly"?

I have found the Harmony remotes to be the best value for the money. They are "activity based" meaning they will have a button to push for "Watch TV", Watch DVD", whatever you want. At first they may seem expensive, but the ease of use is well worth it.

You can get a lower tier Harmony for about $50.00.

Other than that check out some of the Philips remotes, they are close to an activity based remote.

Sometimes I have to remind myself that I bought all this "stuff" to enjoy it!
bizwiz41 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 02-16-2013, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks much for the reply!! Activity based is nice, since it would be used by family members. However I would like to be able to set it up so that if watching tv one could access some functions on the receiver as well as change channels, check menu's on the sat ect. As well, I would like to control the blu-ray from the same remote. I think the family members could be "trained" to operate same? Based on these wants can you suggest something?
sjturbo is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 02-16-2013, 04:02 PM
Member
 
BoogerBomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Colony, TX
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I paid $150 for my Logitech Harmony One. It can be activity based but can also control each individual component afterwards. You can also fully customize what functions of the components remote you want displayed and the order to display them. My AV receiver has 4 pages of functions (what a remote button does) with 6 functions on each one. I put the most common ones on the first page. When I want to watch a bluray, I just hit watch movie and it turns on the AV receiver, TV, and bluray player. You can program the order in which it turns the components on and how long to wait in between. I have a bit longer delay built into the time between turning on the TV and the other components because the tv wont let you change inputs until its done its warmup thing.

BoogerBomb is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 02-16-2013, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks BoogerBomb! Is your One the Advanced? What's the difference between One and One advanced. Also I believe that the one is pc based? As such did you do all your setup on the computer? Also since this is an "older "remote is it compatable with say the new Denon 1913, Panasonic TC60GT50 tv and dish network HD sat? Thanks again!!
T
sjturbo is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 02-16-2013, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 202

Get your answers from the horse's mouth:

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/universal-remotes

See, especially, the "Look up your devices" link.

Plenty of Harmony threads here. The One is probably overkill for you; the currently available 650 would probably be fine.

One word of warning: Logitech is looking to sell the Harmony division, so some are nervous about support in the future.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 02-16-2013, 06:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 821
You should just get a Harmony 650. It does everything that the super expensive Harmony One does. The 650 will not control as many devices but that doesnt matter because you dont have that many. Also the Harmony One is rechargeable and the 650 is not. But you can buy a boatload of batteries with the money you save not getting the overpriced Harmony One.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #8 of 18 Old 02-16-2013, 06:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post

Get your answers from the horse's mouth:
http://www.logitech.com/en-us/universal-remotes
See, especially, the "Look up your devices" link.
Plenty of Harmony threads here. The One is probably overkill for you; the currently available 650 would probably be fine.
One word of warning: Logitech is looking to sell the Harmony division, so some are nervous about support in the future.
I was typing my post at the same time. smile.gif

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #9 of 18 Old 02-16-2013, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I'll check out the 650 in the morning! G'nite.
sjturbo is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 02-17-2013, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
bizwiz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjturbo View Post

Thanks, I'll check out the 650 in the morning! G'nite.

I agree that the 650 will do absolutely everything you want and more! You can customize "Activities" for the little things as well. For example, my "Watch DVD" activity adds the function of automatically opening the Blu Ray player tray (for the family simplicity) You can further customize to change TV picture settings/formats as well as audio.

Further, the "HELP" button is a blessing for the family, as once in a while they a component may not turn on, or set to the right input, etc. and the remote will walk the user through everything to correct the issue.

Let me tell you, the Harmony remotes are a blessing for full family use! I am very experienced in progamming remotes, set up etc., but I got very tired of being called by the family when they wanted to watch a DVD, or movie, or CD. They are all so proud of themselves that they just push a button and everything works perfectly. As a further hint, you might "trial" the activities to "error proof" switching from one to another. I have adjusted the activities so that anyone can go from any activity to any other one with no glitches. (i.e. the family can turn on "Watch TV", then decide to watch a DVD. They simply press "Watch DVD" while watching TV and everything switches perfectly.)

As stated earlier, you can customize the buttons within an activity to include any, and all, the individual remote functions.

Lastly, be warned that you may get spoiled by these remotes. I started with one Harmony 659 (lower end model), and ended up with four more 880s for all the other rooms in the house!

Sometimes I have to remind myself that I bought all this "stuff" to enjoy it!
bizwiz41 is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 02-17-2013, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 202

There's also a lot of help available here under "Harmony."

Which is nice, since the web interface is daunting.

Extremely powerful, but daunting.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 02-19-2013, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to everyone for the responses. I think that the 650 will do all I am expecting. It's great to have a forum with this level of support when someone needs a hand with a piece of gear! Just hope I can get it programed before they sell the division!
sjturbo is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 02-20-2013, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well got the remote programmed to the basics. It was not as easy as I expected but not as hard either. But, I have VIP722 and I wondered if there is a button on the 650 that matches the "DVR" button on the dish remote. IE the one that calls up your list of recorded shows? If not can someone direct me in setting up a button for it please.
sjturbo is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 02-20-2013, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 202

It's a learning remote, so you can just "teach" it that button. You'll need both remotes. Just follow the on-screen instructions.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 02-20-2013, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
No need to learn anything. DVR = LIST in the harmony database. Kind of obvious to me, but that seems to throw a lot of people for a loop. It's a very common question in the logitech forums.
mdavej is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 02-20-2013, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 202

Even better!


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 02-20-2013, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup! it's a winner!! Thanks for all the help. I guess since it's a learning remote I should do some learning also.
sjturbo is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 02-21-2013, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
bizwiz41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

No need to learn anything. DVR = LIST in the harmony database. Kind of obvious to me, but that seems to throw a lot of people for a loop. It's a very common question in the logitech forums.

As a note, with the Harmony remotes, you can change the name of the button/command. If you want to call it "DVR", you can simply type that into the spot called "LIST".

Sometimes I have to remind myself that I bought all this "stuff" to enjoy it!
bizwiz41 is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off