Programming my xfinity remote to correctly switch inputs. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-23-2013, 09:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Dru89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been trying to program my Xfinity remote to work with my Westinghouse TV.

I used the following posts to help me wire up most of it:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1215270/how-to-program-enter-button-on-comcast-motorola-dvr-remote
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1447533/comcast-xfinity-dvr-remote-not-choosing-input-with-westinghouse-tv

I'm having some trouble with the "Input" functionality, though. The "Input" key brings up the input menu just fine. Thanks to the functionality in the posts mentioned above, the "Enter" key works, too. I can't use the Up and Down keys to switch input, though.

If it helps, my remote's setup code is: 11265
My remote's signature is: 3039

Can someone help me figure out how to get this bit to work?

Even better, can someone tell me where the list of EFCs is?

I noticed here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1447533/comcast-xfinity-dvr-remote-not-choosing-input-with-westinghouse-tv#post_22767358 that 3FingeredGlove managed to have the input code for "Enter" ready, but I couldn't seem to find a list of these codes anywhere.

Thanks!
-Dru89
Dru89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-24-2013, 01:19 AM
Senior Member
 
3FingeredGlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
There are two principal ways of getting EFCs. One is to use the Lookup Tool, which can tell you the EFCs that Univeral Electronics has used. A second is to use RemoteMaster and check the contents of upgrades at hifi-remote.com.

I'd start with a direct approach. From post #13 of your last link: "The cursor buttons are different among 10030, 10178, 11265, 11331, and 11758". Temporarily assign the other setup codes and see if one provides working cursor keys. Then you can use the Lookup Tool to get the EFC for that setup code.

If none of those work, I would just start searching manually among all 256 possible EFCs.
3FingeredGlove is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-24-2013, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Dru89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I switched to code 10178 and it works perfectly now. Thanks!

Not sure how I missed that section of the post. Thanks so much!

Have a great day!
Dru89 is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off