Sony STR-D665 IR Code - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joeycannoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to program a Sony STR-D665 receiver (i know i know, its old but it is the in-laws) with a universal remote, but cant get it working. Does anyone know the three digit IR code for this receiver? I searched high and low on the internet but have not been successful in locating it. Any help would be appreciated
joeycannoli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 11:13 AM
Vin
AVS Special Member
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Like most Sony receivers, yours is probably factory set to AV2 and universal remotes need AV1 in order to work. If you can't find the procedure for switching it in the manual (assuming you have the manual) you can find the procedure for your particular receiver here: http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-sony/thread.cgi?4020

Vin
Vin is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joeycannoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vin View Post

Like most Sony receivers, yours is probably factory set to AV2 and universal remotes need AV1 in order to work. If you can't find the procedure for switching it in the manual (assuming you have the manual) you can find the procedure for your particular receiver here: http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-sony/thread.cgi?4020

Thanks Vin. Not finding it in the manual and of course the reciever is not on that list... Any other ideas?
joeycannoli is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 350
You're going to have to tell us what universal remote you have. They all use different codes.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 01:57 PM
Vin
AVS Special Member
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

You're going to have to tell us what universal remote you have. They all use different codes.

Do you happen to know if his receiver is factory set to AV2 and if so won't it need to be changed to AV1?

Vin
Vin is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The str-d665 comes set to av1 codeset, no need to switch from av2, if it even can.

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-sony/thread.cgi?keywords=5889&highlight=str-d665
Edmund is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 02:09 PM
Vin
AVS Special Member
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post

The str-d665 comes set to av1 codeset, no need to switch from av2, if it even can.

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-sony/thread.cgi?keywords=5889&highlight=str-d665

Okay, so then I guess it's just a matter of identifying the right code for his particular remote as mdavej alluded to.

Vin
Vin is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joeycannoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its from Service Electric - UR5U-9020L (Phazr-5 Cable Remote Control). Thanks so much for the help guys

http://www.universalremote.com/products/cable/digital-remotes/ur5-9000l-series
joeycannoli is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
test all keys, with stereo on, from these codes:

001, 018, 247, 248, 166, 101, 184, 218, 271, 560, 612.

The volume keys may not work initially because of a punch through from cable or tv device.
Edmund is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joeycannoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post

test all keys, with stereo on, from these codes:

001, 018, 247, 248, 166, 101, 184, 218, 271, 560, 612.

The volume keys may not work initially because of a punch through from cable or tv device.

Still no dice frown.gif
joeycannoli is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off