problems programming Harmony One to exclude HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-02-2013, 09:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mondo Rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Yamaha AV-Receiver (RX-A3000) , a Panasonic Projector (PT-AE4000) and a custom built HTPC. I use an IR Hotlink to communicate IR signals to my AV-Receiver and Projector, but not to my HTPC.



At this time, I want my Harmony One to control my AV-Receiver (eg power on/off, volume) and projector (power on/off) only. The HTPC has no IR dongle, and I simply power it on/off via the on button on the case, and 'shutdown' through Win 7.



How do I program my Harmony One to work only the projector and receiver?



What device do I choose for the HTPC? Is it needed? It runs Win 7 WMC.



I tried a 'generic activity' and weird things happened - hitting 'help' on the remote started powering off the projector. I also couldnt seem to raise or lower the volume on the receiver.



Any guidance is appreciated.
Mondo Rock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-02-2013, 10:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Easiest thing to do would be to remove all devices and start over.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-02-2013, 10:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mondo Rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Easiest thing to do would be to remove all devices and start over.

Did that and had no success. Even created a new account to start from a clean slate - no dice.
Mondo Rock is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-03-2013, 02:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 851
I dont understand. You act as if the Harmony software just magically places your HTPC on the remote without you doing anything. Please provide more details about the problem.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-03-2013, 05:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
dharel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I think you are over thinking things.

If all you want the remote to control are the projector and receiver, then only add those 2 devices. Don't add anything for the HTPC.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dharel is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-03-2013, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,291
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 178
How can you even control your HTPC if you don't have an IR dongle? Not understanding your point.

The next question would be, why not get an IR dongle so you can control your HTPC?

bryansj is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-03-2013, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mondo Rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

How can you even control your HTPC if you don't have an IR dongle? Not understanding your point.

The next question would be, why not get an IR dongle so you can control your HTPC?

I use a Logitech wireless mouse and keyboard to control the functions on the htpc -mouse is used to browse media browser and shut down.

I use the Harmony Remote to control the projector (power on/off), and receiver (volume).

I did have the Harmony working prior - I've just gone and screwed it up and can't figure out the appropriate settings. Seems to me that 'generic activity' is the only way to program only projector and receiver, as other activities (eg 'Watch a Video') require a movie source (be it bd player or media player - htpc).

What IR dongle are people using? This is driving me nuts!
Mondo Rock is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-03-2013, 08:41 PM
Member
 
krakhen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Panama
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If you want to use the Watch a Video activity maybe you could use a dummy BD player(Sony?) as source. There will be no device receiving and acting upon that signal.

My Zbox came with something very similar to this http://www.amazon.com/Rosewill-RHRC-11002-Windows-Controller-Netflix/dp/B005ZAK50K/ and I'm using a harmony compatible remote to control the HTPC.

__________

Krakhen

krakhen is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Yamaha Rx A3000 7 1 Channel Audio Video Receiver Black , Logitech Harmony One Advanced Universal Remote , Panasonic Pt Ae4000u 1600 Lumen Lcd Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread - A3000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off