Harmony Ultimate, Smart Control and Hub - Page 74 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2203 Old 09-17-2014, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by therockhr View Post
http://www.myharmony.com/discover/living-home/

This is a game changer. If they have added IP control of devices and (fingers crossed) Global Cache devices they will have an incredible product.
I took a quick look at the Android tablet version of the software that was updated on my Nexus 10 this morning. The differences are staggering. I'm hoping this new stuff is compatible with our remotes, but one article I read said Best Buy will have a trade-in program for existing Harmony customers, so I'm not sure what that covers.

Download my IR hex codes for the Denon AVR-4810ci and other Denon receivers
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
For Logitech Harmony support, ask Logitech for the Denon receiver in the account kmickunas.

Keith Mickunas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2203 Old 09-17-2014, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by therockhr View Post
http://www.myharmony.com/discover/living-home/

This is a game changer. If they have added IP control of devices and (fingers crossed) Global Cache devices they will have an incredible product.
I would figuratively kill a man to control my lights with my Ultimate. I really want some sort of Z-Wave bridge or something to incorporate with my Vera, but I know that will never happen

------


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #2193 of 2203 Old 09-17-2014, 10:09 AM
Member
 
mde8965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just thought I would pop in here to say that I have been using my Ultimate for almost a month. I was using a Harmony One and in fact I have 2 other H1's in different rooms. After working a few kinks out related to delays and whatnot, I am very happy with the Ultimate and consider it a definite upgrade from the One. The family is happy with it too. Very rarely do we ever have to hit the "help" button because it did not have direct line of sight or because the kids were impatient and did not point the remote at the equipment long enough.

I like the smaller form factor too. It makes up for not having hard number buttons. I do not find the play, rewind, fast forward buttons being at the top of the remote to be an issue for me. And I love that the remote has a dedicated "DVR" button. And like others, I like that the Ultimate is not so slick and slippery like the One is.


I still never figured out why the Ultimate's hub won't pair with my original Wii. And yes I did hit the pair button on the Wii console. But I need the WiiRemote to play the game anyway, so pushing the power button on it isn't that big of a deal.


While I would say the One is an 8 out of 10, I would give the Ultimate a 9.

Too many toys
mde8965 is offline  
post #2194 of 2203 Old 09-17-2014, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
HarmonySylvain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
I would figuratively kill a man to control my lights with my Ultimate. I really want some sort of Z-Wave bridge or something to incorporate with my Vera, but I know that will never happen
Today we also announced the Harmony Hub Extender, which will bring direct Z-Wave and Zigbee control to you Harmony Hub. Unlike Living Home which is now available, I'm unable to provide an estimate on when t he Hub Extender will hit the market.
NickTheGreat likes this.

______________________________________________
I am an employee of Logitech's Harmony division.
For questions, help or support, please visit
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HarmonySylvain is offline  
post #2195 of 2203 Old 09-17-2014, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarmonySylvain View Post
Today we also announced the Harmony Hub Extender, which will bring direct Z-Wave and Zigbee control to you Harmony Hub. Unlike Living Home which is now available, I'm unable to provide an estimate on when t he Hub Extender will hit the market.
Good thing I said "figuratively"

This is great news though. Thanks for posting!

------


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #2196 of 2203 Old 09-17-2014, 11:02 AM
Member
 
therockhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarmonySylvain View Post
Today we also announced the Harmony Hub Extender, which will bring direct Z-Wave and Zigbee control to you Harmony Hub. Unlike Living Home which is now available, I'm unable to provide an estimate on when t he Hub Extender will hit the market.
That's great news!

Do you know if certain AV devices can now be controlled via IP? Like say Denon receviers and/or set top boxes like Dish Hopper/DirecTV/Tivo? Also, how does the Harmony Developer program work? Will this allow us to be able to create drivers?

Thanks.
therockhr is offline  
post #2197 of 2203 Old 09-17-2014, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
HarmonySylvain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Mickunas View Post
I took a quick look at the Android tablet version of the software that was updated on my Nexus 10 this morning. The differences are staggering. I'm hoping this new stuff is compatible with our remotes, but one article I read said Best Buy will have a trade-in program for existing Harmony customers, so I'm not sure what that covers.
Keith, I created a new thread for Harmony Living Home and answered your question there. Just trying to keep this thread clean for those not interested in Living Home.

Thanks

Sylvain

______________________________________________
I am an employee of Logitech's Harmony division.
For questions, help or support, please visit
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HarmonySylvain is offline  
post #2198 of 2203 Old 09-17-2014, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by therockhr View Post
http://www.myharmony.com/discover/living-home/

This is a game changer. If they have added IP control of devices and (fingers crossed) Global Cache devices they will have an incredible product.
Still won't control my PS4. Damn you Sonyyyyyy

Any news on the front HarmonySylvain?
henhowc is offline  
post #2199 of 2203 Old 09-19-2014, 08:28 AM
Member
 
mishakim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boston - JP
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a problem with starting activities that use the IR in my Touch rather than the Hub, when starting them from anything other than the Touch. (I started with Smart+Hub and added the Touch)

My TV is in a separate room from the rest of my equipment, and I was unable to extend the Harmony IR blaster into that room. Instead, I use the IR in the Touch to turn the TV on, and the Hub handles everything else. Sometimes, I need to use the Smart remote or iPhone App to start an activity that includes the TV. I either don't care that the TV isn't actually on, or know that it's already on. The app warns me that it can't turn the TV on, I say OK, but then it says it failed to turn the TV on, so the activity didn't start. If I use the Smart, no feedback of course, but the activity doesn't start.

It seems that the Hub is assuming that since it didn't turn the TV on, it didn't happen, instead of trusting that I know what I'm doing. So why does the app even give the option of ignoring the problem, if it's not really going to ignore it?

Any suggestions of what I can do, or should I phrase this as a feature request: when starting an activity that relies on the Touch/Ultimate IR, from an app, assume it worked, not that it didn't. Alternate feature request: add the ability to have a given IR command sent from both the Hub and the Touch/Ultimate, not either/or (then I can tell the Hub to send the IR too, it will think it worked, and start the activity).
mishakim is offline  
post #2200 of 2203 Old 09-19-2014, 04:29 PM
Member
 
skinsfan64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello, I am looking to replace my 880 as I am having issues with non-functioning keys (buttons). I can't tell what the difference is between the Touch and the Ultimate One, if any, besides one is newer (?). Also, I would like one that is most like the 880 (I would like to get the One, but not at double the price...).

Thanks for any advise.
skinsfan64 is offline  
post #2201 of 2203 Old 09-19-2014, 04:30 PM
Member
 
skinsfan64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello, I am looking to replace my 880 as I am having issues with non-functioning keys (buttons). I can't tell what the difference is between the Touch and the Ultimate One, if any, besides one is newer (?). Also, I would like one that is most like the 880 (I would like to get the One, but not at double the price...).

Thanks for any advise.
skinsfan64 is offline  
post #2202 of 2203 Old Yesterday, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
rehaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinsfan64 View Post
Hello, I am looking to replace my 880 as I am having issues with non-functioning keys (buttons). I can't tell what the difference is between the Touch and the Ultimate One, if any, besides one is newer (?). Also, I would like one that is most like the 880 (I would like to get the One, but not at double the price...).

Thanks for any advise.
Basicly the Touch and the Ultimate One are the same, with the exception of the Haptic feed back when an LCD button is pressed on the One and the Tilt Sensor the One has and the Touch does not
skinsfan64 likes this.
rehaz1 is offline  
post #2203 of 2203 Old Yesterday, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wylie, TX, USA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 63
The Hub is a key difference between the Touch and Ultimate. Of course now they've introduced new ones that have changed a bit. If you only need IR the Touch is fine.

Download my IR hex codes for the Denon AVR-4810ci and other Denon receivers
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
For Logitech Harmony support, ask Logitech for the Denon receiver in the account kmickunas.

Keith Mickunas is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Logitech 915 000201 Harmony Ultimate Remote , Logitech 915 000194 Harmony Smart Control

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off