Harmony Ultimate, Smart Control and Hub - Page 91 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 2724 Old 03-25-2015, 04:27 AM
Member
 
DELTAsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm thinking of upgrading from a Harmony Touch to an Ultimate. Just wondering about placement of the Hub and IR blasters and if what comes in the box will cover me.

I have an open entertainment center with 3 shelves. AVR is on the bottom. Xbox One and Xbox 360 slim on the next level which both often don't turn on with my Touch. Apple TV and Satellite box and two non-IR consoles on the next shelf. TV is on the wall above.

Will the included Hub and IR blasters be able to cover all of this? Any potential problems?

Samsung UA55HU9000, Klipsch Quintet 5.1, Onkyo TX-NR515AE, Xbox One, PS4, Wii U. Plus a bunch of old consoles.
XBL: DELTAprime, PSN: DELTAsnake, Wii U: DELTAprime
DELTAsnake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 2724 Old 03-25-2015, 07:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
jnnt29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 55
[QUOTE=DELTAsnake;32915081]I'm thinking of upgrading from a Harmony Touch to an Ultimate. Just wondering about placement of the Hub and IR blasters and if what comes in the box will cover me.

I have an open entertainment center with 3 shelves. AVR is on the bottom. Xbox One and Xbox 360 slim on the next level which both often don't turn on with my Touch. Apple TV and Satellite box and two non-IR consoles on the next shelf. TV is on the wall above.

Will the included Hub and IR blasters be able to cover all of this? Any potential problems?[/QUOTE

As far as the Hub, the two included mini blasters should cover the areas the Hub cannot cover. You can also buy a mini plug splitter to add more mini blasters if needed. Posts on page one contains a Q&A that covers most questions and which plug size to get..


Are updating the Touch to use it with the Hub which will give you the RF control like the Ultimate for about $99 or getting the Ultimate Home remote. I have the Ultimate and the also the Touch which I upgraded to work with the Hub. The Touch with the Hub is almost the same as the Ultimate minus a couple of areas.

My meager set up
Denon AVR-X4000, Emotiva XPA-3, Panasonic DMB-BDT360
Klipsch RB-81II, RC-52II, Boston Acoustics Micro 120s
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1227096
jnnt29 is online now  
post #2703 of 2724 Old 03-25-2015, 07:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,121
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1058 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by DELTAsnake View Post
I'm thinking of upgrading from a Harmony Touch to an Ultimate. Just wondering about placement of the Hub and IR blasters and if what comes in the box will cover me.

I have an open entertainment center with 3 shelves. AVR is on the bottom. Xbox One and Xbox 360 slim on the next level which both often don't turn on with my Touch. Apple TV and Satellite box and two non-IR consoles on the next shelf. TV is on the wall above.

Will the included Hub and IR blasters be able to cover all of this? Any potential problems?
The 360 will always be a problem. It needs a dedicated blaster right on top of the port or at least really close to it. Others should be ok.
mdavej is offline  
post #2704 of 2724 Old 03-26-2015, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Got the Harmony set up and my AV installer told me I should return it for one much more configurable. So much of my house if now automated that I am considering it.


Samsung 75” 4k UHD 8550 | Oppo BDP-105D | Paradigm Studio 100's v5 (Mains Bi-amped) | Paradigm Studio CC-690 v5 (Center) | Paradigm ADP-590 v5 (Back) | SVS PB13-Ultra (x2) | Marantz AV-7702 pre/pro | Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-3, XPA-5 | Harmony Ultimate Home Remote
DenonLover is online now  
post #2705 of 2724 Old 03-27-2015, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post
Got the Harmony set up and my AV installer told me I should return it for one much more configurable. So much of my house if now automated that I am considering it.

Such as???

I wish my Harmony did more, but I haven't found a good (consumer-level) option that doesn't look like it was inspired by something from the early 90's!
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #2706 of 2724 Old 03-27-2015, 01:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Is it best buy running upgrade to ultimate promotion?
zoro is offline  
post #2707 of 2724 Old 03-27-2015, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rambler358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Harmony Ultimate, Smart Control and Hub

Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post
Got the Harmony set up and my AV installer told me I should return it for one much more configurable.
And I'm sure it's not because he wants to sell you one and/or offer his programming services to you.
Gator99 and DenonLover like this.

Last edited by Rambler358; 03-28-2015 at 09:51 AM.
Rambler358 is online now  
post #2708 of 2724 Old 03-28-2015, 05:06 AM
Newbie
 
dt744190's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
Such as???

I wish my Harmony did more, but I haven't found a good (consumer-level) option that doesn't look like it was inspired by something from the early 90's!
Wait for Harmony Home Hub Extender that will expand ZigBee® and Z-Wave Plus™ compatibility. http://myharmony.com/products/detail/home-hub-extender/
Current listed as 130US at retailers.
Also with IFTTT Implementing that Logitech are testing out now.
https://ifttt.com/harmony
http://support.myharmony.com/en/harm...nce-with-ifttt

Sure it will do alot more than current Harmony remotes does.
dt744190 is online now  
post #2709 of 2724 Old 03-28-2015, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
rotohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NV
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by 413X3 View Post
My ultimate remote activity (directv) becomes unresponsive to every command sometimes, I can press buttons and the screen shows the buttons are pressed, but nothing happens. Not even the volume and it is tied to my receiver. No directv button works either. I have to change the activity to something else, then go back to my directv activity and everything works again for a bit. Resetting the remote and firmware does not fix it as this problem appears again days later at random. Anyone else?

And opening the harmony app on my apple laptop I get a prompt to update silverlight, I have the updated version already downloaded.
I thought my Ultimate was the problem but after troubleshooting this I've found that if you are on a Directv 'active' channel there are times when it is necessary to press 'exit' first before it will change channels, respond to a guide or list command. Something to try before making any changes to your remote configuration.
rotohead is offline  
post #2710 of 2724 Old 03-28-2015, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
Such as???

I wish my Harmony did more, but I haven't found a good (consumer-level) option that doesn't look like it was inspired by something from the early 90's!
My installer suggested the Complete Control but also mentioned the URC, General Pro, Crestron, Phillips, RTI, and UEI. In a perfect world their would be a local member who could give me a hand over a beer and some tequila shots.

Samsung 75” 4k UHD 8550 | Oppo BDP-105D | Paradigm Studio 100's v5 (Mains Bi-amped) | Paradigm Studio CC-690 v5 (Center) | Paradigm ADP-590 v5 (Back) | SVS PB13-Ultra (x2) | Marantz AV-7702 pre/pro | Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-3, XPA-5 | Harmony Ultimate Home Remote
DenonLover is online now  
post #2711 of 2724 Old 03-28-2015, 04:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,121
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1058 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post
My installer suggested the Complete Control but also mentioned the URC, General Pro, Crestron, Phillips, RTI, and UEI. In a perfect world their would be a local member who could give me a hand over a beer and some tequila shots.
You need to decide if you want to maintain the system yourself or pay someone else to do it. The above systems will be thousands in hardware and thousands more for programming services. Then a couple hundred every time you need to make a change. Nothing wrong with that approach, but just want to make you aware it won't be anywhere near as cheap as Harmony.

BTW, he's working with some old information. Philips left the pro remote business a few years ago. And UEI no longer has a pro line either (although they do make my favorite remotes of all time - JP1 and Xsight). I've never heard of General Pro, if that's really a thing.
mdavej is offline  
post #2712 of 2724 Old 03-28-2015, 08:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
You need to decide if you want to maintain the system yourself or pay someone else to do it. The above systems will be thousands in hardware and thousands more for programming services. Then a couple hundred every time you need to make a change. Nothing wrong with that approach, but just want to make you aware it won't be anywhere near as cheap as Harmony.

BTW, he's working with some old information. Philips left the pro remote business a few years ago. And UEI no longer has a pro line either (although they do make my favorite remotes of all time - JP1 and Xsight). I've never heard of General Pro, if that's really a thing.
I would likely want to maintain the Harmony myself but if I moved to a complete control I would likely want them to do it. I am doing a bunch of home automation now so it would be cool to have it all off of the remote. The sun shades behind our woven wood blinds in the living are set up for me to control as are the big ass fans with haiku, the garage door opener, the front door and some lighting (and soon to add backyard lighting and sprinklers) just not sure I am ready for the steep cost to have installed. I think I need to really think this one over and see if I can live with the harmony.

Samsung 75” 4k UHD 8550 | Oppo BDP-105D | Paradigm Studio 100's v5 (Mains Bi-amped) | Paradigm Studio CC-690 v5 (Center) | Paradigm ADP-590 v5 (Back) | SVS PB13-Ultra (x2) | Marantz AV-7702 pre/pro | Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-3, XPA-5 | Harmony Ultimate Home Remote
DenonLover is online now  
post #2713 of 2724 Old 03-29-2015, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Have you ever thought about iRule or roomie remote?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jeff
Gator99 is offline  
post #2714 of 2724 Old 03-29-2015, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I have never seen or heard of either of those two apps but they both look like they were quite well. I will check them out, thank you.
DenonLover is online now  
post #2715 of 2724 Old 03-29-2015, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 15
They have pros and con's, I use iRule, the two biggest cons:

You have to use tablet or phone, no physical remote
Learning curve, can be interesting depends on your skill set their forums are good and we have a thread here as well.

As info I use irule and Harmony, like them both, but I tinker with iRule all the time, having feedback is a big reason why.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
DenonLover likes this.

Jeff
Gator99 is offline  
post #2716 of 2724 Old 03-29-2015, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator99 View Post
They have pros and con's, I use iRule, the two biggest cons:

You have to use tablet or phone, no physical remote
Learning curve, can be interesting depends on your skill set their forums are good and we have a thread here as well.

As info I use irule and Harmony, like them both, but I tinker with iRule all the time, having feedback is a big reason why.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
I am holding off right now to see what Apple is going to do with the iHome. They seem to be pretty good at networking.

Samsung 75” 4k UHD 8550 | Oppo BDP-105D | Paradigm Studio 100's v5 (Mains Bi-amped) | Paradigm Studio CC-690 v5 (Center) | Paradigm ADP-590 v5 (Back) | SVS PB13-Ultra (x2) | Marantz AV-7702 pre/pro | Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-3, XPA-5 | Harmony Ultimate Home Remote
DenonLover is online now  
post #2717 of 2724 Old Yesterday, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
RVD26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just posting to say I love my Harmony Ultimate
Logitech gave me this remote as a replace for my Harmony One, which had the swollen battery issue.
The only issue I get is when I clean the screen and it goes a little wonky from all the commands being pressed during the cleaning.
A reboot always fixes the issue though.
49Merc likes this.
RVD26 is offline  
post #2718 of 2724 Old Yesterday, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
rehaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVD26 View Post
Just posting to say I love my Harmony Ultimate
Logitech gave me this remote as a replace for my Harmony One, which had the swollen battery issue.
The only issue I get is when I clean the screen and it goes a little wonky from all the commands being pressed during the cleaning.
A reboot always fixes the issue though.
There is an option to lock the screen on the Ultimate so you can clean it. Select the Menu Icon on the LCD screen, select Setting select Remote, select Remote Lock, when you are done cleaning press and hold the Exit button until the screen returns to normal.
RVD26 likes this.
rehaz1 is offline  
post #2719 of 2724 Old Yesterday, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post
My installer suggested the Complete Control but also mentioned the URC, General Pro, Crestron, Phillips, RTI, and UEI. In a perfect world their would be a local member who could give me a hand over a beer and some tequila shots.
I bet he did.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #2720 of 2724 Old Yesterday, 10:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,121
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1058 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post
I would likely want to maintain the Harmony myself but if I moved to a complete control I would likely want them to do it. I am doing a bunch of home automation now so it would be cool to have it all off of the remote. The sun shades behind our woven wood blinds in the living are set up for me to control as are the big ass fans with haiku, the garage door opener, the front door and some lighting (and soon to add backyard lighting and sprinklers) just not sure I am ready for the steep cost to have installed. I think I need to really think this one over and see if I can live with the harmony.
You could probably pull most of that off with Mi Casa Verde (I think they changed their name recently) plus Harmony Home and a few custom interfaces. But I agree iRule would be a better fit and give you feedback and far more customization.

I found this, which I thought was pretty funny. If you go to remote central (below) and scroll down to the Professional remote forum, you get the exact same list he told you, including "General Pro" which isn't even a brand but the name of the forum.

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/forums.cgi

Do give your scope some more thought. I've never needed to remotely control my sprinkler system, for example.
DenonLover likes this.

Last edited by mdavej; Yesterday at 10:21 AM.
mdavej is offline  
post #2721 of 2724 Old Yesterday, 03:52 PM
Member
 
mconigs78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone have the white remote? If so does it get dirty fast?
mconigs78 is offline  
post #2722 of 2724 Unread Today, 05:37 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
White remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by mconigs78 View Post
Anyone have the white remote? If so does it get dirty fast?
no I haven't had a problem other than the leather furniture and the color rubbing off on bottom of it when sitting on the furniture!!

2-RTi-10's 1-CSi5 2-TSi400 6-r150's 1-Velodyne DPS-12
Yamaha RX-A3030 and Emotiva XPA-200
Samsung UN65F7100
azz7686 is offline  
post #2723 of 2724 Unread Today, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DenonLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 32
What is the quickest way to learn how to set up your remote? Did it take you a long time do and did it come pretty easy for you. I guess I just need to dive in and start learning how t set this up and use it.

Samsung 75” 4k UHD 8550 | Oppo BDP-105D | Paradigm Studio 100's v5 (Mains Bi-amped) | Paradigm Studio CC-690 v5 (Center) | Paradigm ADP-590 v5 (Back) | SVS PB13-Ultra (x2) | Marantz AV-7702 pre/pro | Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-3, XPA-5 | Harmony Ultimate Home Remote
DenonLover is online now  
post #2724 of 2724 Unread Today, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rambler358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Harmony Ultimate, Smart Control and Hub

Quote:
Originally Posted by DenonLover View Post
What is the quickest way to learn how to set up your remote? Did it take you a long time do and did it come pretty easy for you. I guess I just need to dive in and start learning how t set this up and use it.
You just need to note what inputs your devices are connected to, and you should be all set. Jump in, the water's nice!
Rambler358 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Logitech 915 000201 Harmony Ultimate Remote , Logitech 915 000194 Harmony Smart Control

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off