Harmony ultimate vs roomie (Does Harmony ultimate support IP devices?) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 3 Post By HarmonySylvain

post #1 of 9 Old 07-14-2013, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to universal remotes and macros.

I am building a house and will have a media room and extensive AV components. I was thinking of an easy to use universal remote. The roomie software which works with iphone or ipad sounded like a good option, but I need hard buttons.

I read here in the Harmony ultimate thread that it can do wifi control. So, is it like the roomie in that sense. As in, if I get a list of IP devices that can be controlled via wifi, can I control those units without the need for the hub?

My AV components will be in another room, so I would typically need an RF remote and not IR. However then I assume I need to have the hub placed at the line of sight? I'd rather it be wifi controlled such that I don't need a hub or direct line of sight to any of the devices (Is this how wifi controllable IP devices function?????....I am new to this and may be utterly wrong with my understanding) .

I am basically looking for a roomie with hard buttons, could the Harmony Ultimate function as one.

Also, is there a list of IP controllable list for the Harmony ultimate remote.

Can the RF hub be hid behind a TV?

Thank you!

P.S: reading up further, it looks like this remote does not control ip devices or that matter rf devices either. It looks like the remote communicates to a hub vis RF and the hub communicates to individual devices via IR.