Does Harmony Smart Control control Z-Wave switches? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-29-2013, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I currently have a X10 light switch, however it shuts itself off very often due to noise on the line. I'm looking to replace it with something that doesn't send the on/off signal via the electric lines - hence moving to Z-Wave (feel free to make recommendations).

In the process - I'm thinking of getting a Harmony Smart Control to also control (all my equip is in a equip room away from the home theater room)- does this also control the z-wave switches without need of any additional add -ons?
Also what's the diff between the Harmony Smart Control and the too be released Harmony Ultimate Hub?
Also feel free to advise/recommend other products if you feel it'll accomplish what I need

thx
cgott42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-29-2013, 03:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,334
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2063 Post(s)
Liked: 926
No. For Z-Wave, you need to find yourself an old Harmony 890. Philips Hue is what the Ultimate/SmartControl Hub works with. Most other solutions are going to end up doing IR and/or powerline, which you are trying to avoid.

I've had the same issues with flaky X10. If I were in the market today, I'd probably go with Philips. For now, I'm still limping along with X10 as I have the past 15 years.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-29-2013, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 21
thanks, though I don't see any Philips Hue wall switches to control existing (fluorescent) light
cgott42 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-30-2015, 08:00 PM
Member
 
kmiller15211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is an older post, but in case anyone needs help with this, maybe they can use this:

I just recently had this issue - I had an old Harmony 890 that was starting to malfunction, and I wasn't sure what to do to replace it. What I did was buy the Harmony Hub (does NOT control Z-Wave directly) and I also bought a Smart Things hub (controls many things including Z-wave, CAN be controlled by the Harmony Hub). Note that the Smart Things hub I purchased was the older model that is now discontinued. I can't vouch for the newer ones coming out around Sept 2015, but I would imagine they would work as well. What I did was first use the Smart Things app on my Smart phone to pair with all of my Z wave lights - I have three Levitron wall switches and two Levitron wall dimmer outlets. Once I had them all working with the Smart Things app, I saved all settings to my Smart things account then I moved to my Harmony app. Inside there, I used this video to assist me: http://blog.smartthings.com/news/sma...rtthings-labs/. Basically, inside the Harmony, you add a device that is a Smart Things hub and then you will have all of the lights controlled by the ST hub inside the Harmony app. It works really well.

Hope this helps you, feel free to email me at kurt at kurtmiller.net if you have any further questions.
kmiller15211 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-02-2015, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,408
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 523
I made an IR to Z-wave controller with EventGhost. I use a Vera for Z-wave control. On my remote I programmed in a bunch of commands for stuff I don't have like old VCR number keys. In EventGhost I use the IR commands as triggers and I send out the IP commands for the Vera to control the Z-wave devices. Now VCR number button 1 command turns on my kitchen light and number 2 dims it to 70% and so on. For this to work you just need a computer running 24/7 and an IR receiver, EventGhost is free.

IR is sent to the computer using a universal RF remote to a RF to IR base station. No pointing needed.

bryansj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Logitech 915 000194 Harmony Smart Control , Logitech Harmony 890 Advanced Universal Remote Control



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off