IR Setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-21-2013, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mikemar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Changed my mind a bit from the RF Thread I started (http://www.avsforum.com/f/93/remote-control-area)

I'm looking to just setup a wired IR setup now. Probably something like this

http://www.amazon.com/Xantech-DL85K-Proof-Designer-Receiver/dp/B0046WZ08U/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1377095379&sr=8-1-fkmr0&keywords=WL95+Wall+Link+Universal+IR+Receiver

Then just run that cord and the HDMI in a smurt tube to the receiver's and be happy.

Any recommendations for gear for the IR setup? (probably don't want to do the wall plate IR sensor unless it's the only good one

Doing 2 rooms, so under $250/$300 for both total would be great
mikemar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-21-2013, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
walterappleby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I used a Hot Link Pro in the past and liked it fine.
http://www.hot-link.com/pages/products.cgi?mrchcatid=1&mrchid=2

They also have a long distance version where you can use cat5/6 to extend the relay length from the eye to the emitters. That may be useful for you based on the distance you need to go.
http://www.hot-link.com/pages/extra_long_distance_system.cgi

walterappleby is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-21-2013, 02:22 PM
Member
 
Rehan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
If you go the IR route instead of using RF one thing to keep in mind is that if you decide to get a remote down the road that allows advanced macro programming (touch one button and it handles powering on the proper equipment and switching inputs) you may find it an inconvenience that you need to keep your remote pointed at the IR receiver the entire time the macro is firing. People tend to push a button on a remote and then drop it on the couch so it might be an issue.
Rehan is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-21-2013, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mikemar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehan View Post

If you go the IR route instead of using RF one thing to keep in mind is that if you decide to get a remote down the road that allows advanced macro programming (touch one button and it handles powering on the proper equipment and switching inputs) you may find it an inconvenience that you need to keep your remote pointed at the IR receiver the entire time the macro is firing. People tend to push a button on a remote and then drop it on the couch so it might be an issue.

I already have harmony remotes, so we are used to keeping it pointed

But thank you regardless
mikemar is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Hot Link Pro Remote Control Booster System

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off