Advice for IR receiver for Windows Media Center Remote - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-04-2013, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mcguidance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Things are finally coming together. I have the HTPC up and running, now it's time to start tweaking. I've started with Plex for my brother, so he can use plex pass as he travels a ton.

I'm beginning to program my universal remote using the wizard, and I need to set up my WMC remote. I have an HP windows remote with the green button, like this:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/121162652594?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2648

Now I need an IR USB receiver. Which should I get?

This:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/281154400922?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2648

Or this:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/190779418793?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2648

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
mcguidance is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-04-2013, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,616
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Get the HP. It's proven to be MCE (RC6). The other is an unknown. But for $5, you could take a chance if you want.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-04-2013, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mcguidance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, spent the extra five bucks. Thanks.

Think it will be easy enough to program the mce remote into the urc mx810?
mcguidance is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-04-2013, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,616
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 319
I don't know much about the MX-810. I would expect most codes to be built in. Otherwise the pronto hex is available many places.

I don't think learning would work very well though, because of the toggle bit in the MCE protocol. I could be wrong.
mdavej is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off