Issues programming DirecTV remote - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-05-2013, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
PBizme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a new DirecTV setup and I'm trying to setup my receiver and speakers in the room my the main DirecTV box. My receiver is an Onkyo TX-SR605 which I've had connected to a DirecTV remote in the past. With the new DirecTV system where I don't have to enter any codes manually it is not successfully connecting to my receiver. I've tried selecting the actual model of the receiver and tried selecting I Don't Know and neither of them have worked. Has anyone else had a similar issue and have you had any luck resolving it?
PBizme is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-05-2013, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
What is the model # of the directv receiver and its remote?
Edmund is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-05-2013, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
PBizme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DirecTV receiver is HR34-700. Looks like the remote is RC66RX?

Now my situation is even worse because I reset the remote and now I can't get the TV programmed again. When I navigate through the menu and click on Setup TV you can tell that I clicked Select, but it just sits on that menu.
PBizme is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-05-2013, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
PBizme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried restarting the box and that didn't seem to make a difference
PBizme is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-05-2013, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
PBizme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was able to use these instructions to get the TV programmed again since the menu didn't work:


1. Move slider to TV
2. Press MUTE and SELECT (LED flashes twice)
3. Enter 991 then 1
4. Press VOL UP
press CH UP until you see the volume bar appear on your TV screen
5. Press SELECT to lock in the code

note there are over 300 codes so it might take a little while to get the code
PBizme is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-05-2013, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
With tv code in. You won't be able to control the onkyo power with one code, not with its use of two key power scheme, one key for on and another for off. With directv single PWR key, one command will always be missing. You can use two devices, one with code 30135, and another with code 30842, you'll now have both power commands.

As for volume, the volume keys NEVER work initially with ANY audio code, reason is the volume keys won't work at all without a tv code programmed to the tv device. With a tv code in, the volume keys now control the tv, but that can be remedied:

1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press SELECT
Edmund is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-05-2013, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
PBizme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't even get it to connect to the Onkyo at all though. I've already gone through the last part you posted which basically took away the volume controls from hitting the TV (speakers there are off anyway) and now it just doesn't do anything since I can't get the Onkyo to be programmed as AV1
PBizme is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-05-2013, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Turn off the receiver, just program the remote on the remote via my directions:

1. av1
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 3 0 1 3 5

1. av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 3 0 8 4 2

1. av1
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press SELECT

If you want to restore the tv volume:

1. tv
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press VOL DOWN
PBizme and Rehan like this.
Edmund is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-05-2013, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
PBizme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That worked perfectly Edmund. Thanks a ton!
PBizme is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-14-2014, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
BocaCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks Edmund!  You are a genius!  I have been trying unsuccessfully for over 1 year since I switched to DirecTV to program my DirecTV remote control.   Not even the DirecTV installer could figure it out.

Not only do I thank you but my wife especially thanks you.  She has been bugging me for months wondering why I couldn't figure it out on my own.  I was ready to give up and stoop to buying a 3rd party universal remote.  Now my DirecTV remote works on my LG 39" LED HDTV, my DirecTV receiver and also my 10 year old Onkyo TX-SR674 receiver.

BocaCharlie is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Onkyo Tx Sr605 Receiver , Directv Universal Remote Control
Gear in this thread - Sr605 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off