Simple IR Repeater Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 10-12-2013, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
captquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisana
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an IR repeater that someone gave me. Simple set up: the input is on one side of the wall, and the emitters are on the other. I plugged it up yesterday for the first time, and saw the emitter flash red when my wife hit the remote in the other room. However, nothing happed to the component. I put it right over the IR sensor on the box and nothing. It didn't matter how I positioned the emitter (close, far, etc.). Shouldn't it just "repeat" whatever signal I shoot at it, or is there something I'm missing? The signal I tested with is DirecTV
captquin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 10-12-2013, 10:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Is the target DirecTV box in IR mode and set to the same address as the remote in the other room?
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-12-2013, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
captquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisana
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think yes to both. Let me make sure I understand the questions.

The target box (the "mini" genie) does receive signal from the IR remote, so I assume it's in IR mode.

The remote is the one from direcTV and it works the target box when it has line of sight. I assume its on the right address, but I'm sure exactly what you mean.

Thanks for your help.
captquin is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off