Why can I not find any new Blu Ray players in the IR database for my URC MX880? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 12-02-2013, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

A little side info here...I used to work at a home/car audio and video showroom that went out of business years ago.  During that time, I learned to do basic programming on remotes (definitely not to the extent that most of you can do), but enough for it to work how I want it to work.  I have the URC Complete Control Program installed on my computer and the live update was completed last week and is up to date. 

 

My DVD player recently took a dump and am looking to get a Blu Ray player to replace it.  My dilemma is that I do not see any Blu Ray players listed in the IR database.  Is my only option to learn the manufacturers remote into my MX880?

droopydogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 12-02-2013, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
They are all under DVD.
dalto is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 12-02-2013, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Look at the prefix in the model #'s.
Edmund is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 12-02-2013, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I looked under DVD. I don't see any of the model #'s that I see in stores in the database.
droopydogg is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 12-02-2013, 08:32 PM
Member
 
topp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you give us an example of the ones your looking at/for? I had no problem finding either of mine.
topp is online now  
post #6 of 13 Old 12-02-2013, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,592
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Each maker uses the same codes across all models. So if you don't find an exact match, just pick an older model, for example a Sony 570 instead of the newer 5100, same exact codes used by both.
mdavej is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-02-2013, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Also, keep in mind URC does not list every single model. Manufactures don't change their IR codes very often so you just need to pick something close.

That being said, if you give us some examples I am sure we can find the codes for you.
dalto is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 12-05-2013, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I didn't really have a model in mind that I know I am going to purchase. It would likely be one of the following:

 

Samsung: BD-F5100 or BD-F5900

or

Sony: BDP-S5100 or BDP-S3100

 

I am not looking to break the bank on this one. My Yamaha DVD player is intermittently not reading DVD's and the wife doesn't know how to use the PS3 to play movies for the little ones. Just looking for something simple that can be programed back onto the remote so it would work like it does now w/ the Yamaha.

 

Here is the screenshot of the models that it lists for both brands:

 

 

droopydogg is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 12-05-2013, 04:35 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
You could try a Schmartz box for the PS3. You can then use the PS3 for Blu-Ray (and games) through the URC remote. The Schmartz box is in the CCP database and you can then have "play", "skip forward" and all of the usual Blu-Ray buttons.

http://www.schmartz.com/products/ps3ir-1000
alk3997 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 12-05-2013, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Try DVD:368 for the Sony and DVD:352 for the Samsung.

I am not sure about the Sony but I am fairly sure that the Samsung players do not have discrete power codes so be careful with that if it matters to you. I usually get the LG BD players because most of them have discrete codes and they are relatively inexpensive.
dalto is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 12-05-2013, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post

You could try a Schmartz box for the PS3. You can then use the PS3 for Blu-Ray (and games) through the URC remote. The Schmartz box is in the CCP database and you can then have "play", "skip forward" and all of the usual Blu-Ray buttons.

http://www.schmartz.com/products/ps3ir-1000

Wow...I am not going to lie, that is pretty bad ass.  I didn't even know something like that existed.  I will definitely look into getting one of those.  But I would still like to have a separate DVD/Bluray player.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post

Try DVD:368 for the Sony and DVD:352 for the Samsung.

I am not sure about the Sony but I am fairly sure that the Samsung players do not have discrete power codes so be careful with that if it matters to you. I usually get the LG BD players because most of them have discrete codes and they are relatively inexpensive.

 

I am not real familiar w/ the LG's.  I know the guys I worked with always bashed them because of their build quality and durability (but then again that was 5-6 years ago, and I do not have any first hand knowledge about them).  I was a mobile audio expert and the only time they would really let us guys over to the home AV side was when something needed to be installed, LOL.

 

I definitely would like to have something with discrete power codes...how would you rate the quality (build quality) compared to a Sony or Samsung?

droopydogg is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 12-05-2013, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,592
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 313
All Sony BD players use the same codes. All Samsung BD players use the same codes. Just pick the highest model number you see.

Sony has discrete codes. Samsung doesn't. But there is a workaround. Play will act like discrete on, and Play followed by Power will act like discrete off.

You can also control the PS3 with your remote for free if you use Bravia-Sync (HDMI CEC).
mdavej is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 01-15-2014, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I forgot all about this thread. I wanted to thank everyone who posted info and helped out. I ended up getting a Sony and it works like a champ.
droopydogg is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Urc Mx 880 48 Device Ir Rf Remote With Color Lcd

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off