Help programing a URC MX450 to control zone 2 on my Onkyo reciever. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-02-2013, 05:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
greenstarfish03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Onkyo TX-NR717
Def Tech Mythos seven center and Mythos two front and rears
Lava 12 inch sub
Universal MX-450


Ok I added some in wall speakers and connected them to zone 2 of my reciever and all is going well, but Im having a hard time setting my remote up so it will control zone 2 in a simple enough fashion that the family can listen to music in the new zone. Any tips or tricks for doing this would be greatly appreciated.

My first issue is programing the remote to control zone 2. I tried to just use the learn feature to do this but on the original remote you have to hold the zone 2 button down for like 5 seconds then hit reciver and then you can select your source and control volume etc., but my URC remote doesn't seem to learn the zone 2 button. Im guessing it must be b/c its a button you have to hold down for a period of time for it to function. Any thoughts on how I can overcome that? I don't see this button on any of the pre-programed options as far as I can tell.

After that any clever ways to create an option easy for the family to turn the zone on/off and control the volume would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
greenstarfish03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-03-2013, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
greenstarfish03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump
greenstarfish03 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-03-2013, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Add a separate device for Zone 2. Then have them just use that device for zone 2 control.

Audio:1584 should have all the zone 2 commands for your receiver. audio:1514 has the tuner controls.
dalto is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-04-2013, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
greenstarfish03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Dalto. I was hopping there was a pre-defined code for zone 2. I will give thta a try.
greenstarfish03 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-04-2013, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
greenstarfish03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I updated the firmware and codesets but I don't have anything higher then 1299?? Am I doing something wrong?
greenstarfish03 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-06-2013, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
greenstarfish03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I stioll dont know what to do here. Anyone?
greenstarfish03 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-06-2013, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The code Dalto suggested might have come from CCP for pc programmable remotes, and so isn't available to mx-450. You can try Integra brand, see if it has the codes you need, Integra is Onkyo pro brand of equipment. If all fails, TEACH!!
Edmund is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-06-2013, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post

The code Dalto suggested might have come from CCP for pc programmable remotes, and so isn't available to mx-450.

Does the mx-450 no longer use the same codesets?
dalto is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-06-2013, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
This was initially preprogrammed remote, no why upgrade, later the mx-450 archiver software was released. So unless the OP upgraded via the software the code data base will become out of date. I'm not sure if the mx-450 archiver software is still available?
Edmund is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-06-2013, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Oh, I thought he said in post 5 he updated it. Also Audio 1299 is a really old code so that struck me as strange.
dalto is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-06-2013, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I equate the mx-450 to mx-350 or 650, and not pro model. I would never expect it to have as update code data base as the ccp software. You can't even enter a code directly into it, you have to through the list until get to particular code. Never liked the model myself.
Edmund is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Universal Remote Control Mx 450 Custom Programmable Remote Control With On Screen Macro Editing

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off