MX850 strange behavior with HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-31-2013, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bg56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Hoping someone recognizes this. I have an MX850 that I have been using for years with a receiver, projector, STB and DVD. I have recently installed an HTPC with an HP Media Center infrared receiver. The remote with the HP works great with both XBMC and WMC. However, after learning the codes from the HP remote, the MX850 behaves in strange manner.

Specifically, when I select the left arrow, I can only navigate left once. After that, I can navigate back to the right using the right arrow but I cannot navigate any farther left. Additionally, once I have navigated to the right once with the right arrow, I can only navigate back to the left. Same goes for up arrow and down. This behavior is the same both if I use the RF/IR blaster transmission of the MX850 or if I point the MX850 at the IR receiver and use IR directly.

Not sure if this is something to do with the MX850 or Windows as the symptoms don't make any sense. It's not like transmission is spotty - if I select any other key, the response if 100% reliable.

Anyone out there seen this kind of behavior or have ideas on what might be going on?

Thanks
bg56 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-31-2013, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
MCE protocol has a toggle bit, so learns will behave exactly as you described. I'd recommend you either use the built in MCE codes or pronto hex instead of learns. In those cases the toggle bit will work properly.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-31-2013, 08:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bg56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks - I used learns because the MX850 doesn't appear to have MCE in the IR database. I've not yet found a CCF file for MCE - have I missed one out there somewhere (actually, I found an old one on remotecentral but looking at the CCF file using the MX850 universal browser, the transport buttons all have very strange characters and I cannot tell what is what).

Thanks again for the heads up on the toggle bit - not sure I would have ever figured that one out on my own.
bg56 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-31-2013, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
In the mx-editor, under AUX, look for Microsoft.
Edmund is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-01-2014, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bg56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Edmund - Thanks! I had to do a live update and sure enough AUX / Microsoft in the IR DB did the trick.
Really appreciate the pointer:)
bg56 is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Universal Remote Control Mx 850 Ir Rf Aeros Remote Control

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off