Simple automation solution needed for new dedicated theater room - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-28-2014, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kingcobra777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All

I've been doing some research and I’m honestly more confused than before I started. I am building a new dedicated theater room from an unfinished basement and want a fairly simple home automation program for just the theater lighting and the A/V equipment in the adjacent component room. I have a JVC DLA 4910, Denon x4000, Oppo BDP103D, DirectTV genie and probably an xbox and a HTPC eventually.

What I’m looking for is a very straightforward control system on a Tablet that anyone can pick up and start watching TV or a movie with a simple macro key or two. So far, the Irule demos I have seen on their website looks what I’m going for.
So I have a simple lighting plan, 5 zones in the room. Each with its own switch. I like so far Intseon switches due to the color options (need brown or black).

Can someone point me in the right direction with what equipment I’ll need from both IRULE and possibly Insteon or another lighting option?

Thanks for your help.
Matt
Kingcobra777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 06-09-2014, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
helmsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Here's a bump as I would also be interested in reading some replies to this question.
helmsman is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 06-09-2014, 11:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,220
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1106 Post(s)
Liked: 601
iRule is going to require a Global Cache gateway of some sort. And I'd look at MiCasaVerde for the home automation gateway.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off