Harmony 650 or Xsite Plus (urc8620) or ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 07-22-2014, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Harmony 650 or Xsite Plus (urc8620) or ?

I owe a harmony 785 but buttons started failing and fixing them doesn't seem to last to long, issue with the cradle seem to be common for this product. I want to buy something around 50E which takes me to the harmony 650 or the oneforall Xsite plus. I would go for the harmony cause I'm not sure what to expect from the Xsite (except what I read in some reviews) but my previous remote wasn't very reliable considering the price and I want to hear any other opinions or suggestions.
My devices: Samsung UE46ES6100, Yamaha RX-V373, WMC PC, Lights
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 07-22-2014, 07:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 484
I have a lot of experience with both, so here's my 2 cents:

Harmony 650 is going to be easier to use and program than the Plus and be more familiar to you since all Harmony remotes work essentially the same. It's also much more reliable than your old Harmony. The Plus is alright and now works great with Remote Master. But, the on-screen functions are awkward to use since you have to scroll through the functions rather than access them directly. If you can find it very cheap, then it would be worth it. Another option is the Xsight Touch on ebay, which runs less than 40E. It's a far better remote than the 650 or Plus since it does 18 devices, RF, has a touch screen with 6 functions per page and has more programming capabilities. It also works with Remote Master (meaning no dependence on a website for programming, plus the ability to do unlimited backups/restores of any configuration, and many other features the web based programming doesn't offer).
post #3 of 10 Old 07-23-2014, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter