Harmony Touch with Hub? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-25-2014, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wadec22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Harmony Touch with Hub?

I have the harmony touch. I recently moved my equipment rack from the front of the room to the back. What's the best way to handle no line of sight with this bad boy?


I see you can buy the harmony hub to add to it. If I do that does the Touch communicate with the Hub via RF or wi-fi (like smartphones). If it's wi-fi, this isn't an option for me as my media room is a wi-fi dead zone.


Are there any cheaper alternatives than adding the hub? Not sure 100 bucks is worth not having to reach behind my head, especially if it's just acting as a repeater.


If a repeater is a better/cheaper option, what is one that someone would recommend based on experience?

Denon 4520CI
Emotiva LPA-1
Epson 5020ub::::110" Silver Ticket
PS4::::Toshiba HD-A35:::::::::Denon DBT 3313UDCI:::Darbee DVP 5000
Martin Logan Stage(c)::::ML Aerius I(l/r)::::ML Motion FX(s)::::ML Scripts(sb)
PSA XV15:::::PSA XV15se
wadec22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-25-2014, 08:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,334
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2063 Post(s)
Liked: 926
A repeater will be cheaper but not better. It will be far worse in fact, but will get the job done. A well place mirror will work too, for free. The Touch is an expensive remote to begin with, so what's another $100 for a nice elegant solution to your problem?
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-25-2014, 09:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wadec22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
A repeater will be cheaper but not better. It will be far worse in fact, but will get the job done. A well place mirror will work too, for free. The Touch is an expensive remote to begin with, so what's another $100 for a nice elegant solution to your problem?
does that mean the hub communicates with the touch via RF?

Denon 4520CI
Emotiva LPA-1
Epson 5020ub::::110" Silver Ticket
PS4::::Toshiba HD-A35:::::::::Denon DBT 3313UDCI:::Darbee DVP 5000
Martin Logan Stage(c)::::ML Aerius I(l/r)::::ML Motion FX(s)::::ML Scripts(sb)
PSA XV15:::::PSA XV15se
wadec22 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-26-2014, 05:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,334
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2063 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadec22 View Post
does that mean the hub communicates with the touch via RF?
Yes it does. Touch has always been RF capable, but it was not enabled until the Ultimate and hub were released.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off