Will using Logitech 700 help improve connection with devices? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-02-2014, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Will using Logitech 700 help improve connection with devices?

Right now I own the Denon 2112CI and the Sony S5100 Blu Ray player. I like both of these devices, but what irks me is that I don't think they use RF technology. My entertainment center is in the back of the room and my projection screen is in the front of the room. In order to use my current remotes I have to hold the remote to the side or near the back in order for them to respond to the player.

My question is this: Will getting a Logitech 700 provide me the ability to point the remote forward or do I need something else in order to help make this happen? Any info would be great! Thanks!
butie120 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-02-2014, 07:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,221
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 558 Post(s)
Liked: 429
You need an IR repeater, a mirror or an RF remote. The 700 will work exactly like your current remote.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-03-2014, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
You need an IR repeater, a mirror or an RF remote. The 700 will work exactly like your current remote.
Thanks mdavej. I actually quoted you in a different post. I'm looking into the Next Generation remote extender, but curious if I will need to buy anything other than the product on Amazon going for $39.99. Will this suffice for my needs?
butie120 is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-03-2014, 01:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,221
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 558 Post(s)
Liked: 429
That comes with one transmitter and one receiver. I don't know if that's all you need or not. If you only have one room and one remote, then yes.

Next Gen doesn't work on an recent Harmony models.
mdavej is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area
Gear in this thread - S5100 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off