Using RTI system with Yamaha RX-V775 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 03-04-2015, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Using RTI system with Yamaha RX-V775

I had to replace my receiver recently when my Onkyo developed the dreaded HDMI board failure. I bought the Yamaha RX-V775 from Costco, and when my installer (who had installed the entire system for the previous homeowner) came out he said it wouldn't work with the RTI because it had no RS232 jack. Just for grins, I guess, he did something to see if he could control it over the ethernet connection, and it worked. I'm pretty good with some of this technology, but a total noob when it comes to the RTI and RS232 control.

Now, the RTI is no longer controlling the Yamaha, but it still controls my other components. Any idea on how I can get it to control the Yamaha again, without calling out the installer?

I like my installer, but this was a side business for him that he's getting out of so I don't want to bother him unnecessarily.

Would it be a more reliable setup to just buy a receiver with an RS232 interface?

Thanks for any help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 03-05-2015, 07:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 1041 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Since RF or IP is 99.9% as reliable as RS232, reliability isn't really the main benefit. Feedback is (displaying volume level on your remote, for example). Whatever you decide, you'll need your installer to make any changes. But if that installer thought the Yamaha couldn't be controlled, then he obviously has no idea what he's talking about. Find a different installer who knows what he's doing.
post #3 of 6 Old 03-14-2015, 10:43 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10