Harmony 880 IR failure - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-20-2017, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jayoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Harmony 880 IR failure

I've got two 880s. The newer one just stopped sending IR. Everything is working on screen/buttons, but zero IR output. I confirmed this with my cell camera, no light at all, the other remotes show commands clearly. IR and 880 are too short for search

So... should I try replacing the LEDs?

Or, what should I replace the complete remote with? Ideally, another Harmony that I can just port over my programming. I've got lots of devices on this one:
- sat box
- TV
- PS3 IR control
- AVR
- LD
- 3D controller
- fireplace
- AppleTV
- probably more that I am forgetting

I don't need home control, nor RF.
jayoldschool is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-20-2017, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
mbarland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Crystal, MN
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
It's pretty rare, but certainly not impossible, for the LEDs to have gone bad. Far more likely that one of the ICs in the remote has gone out, probably an LED driver board or similar.

Best bet if you want to stick with the 880 and not reprogram is to look for used ones on eBay. They're old enough now they can be had cheaply, especially if you're willing to take yours apart and cobble together a working unit from a couple of non-working. Good time to build up some spares. That's what I did before moving on from Harmony. I was able to keep my batch running for years that way.

As far as copying your programming, only going to be possible with a like model. You should be able to plug it and download to another 880, an 890, or an 880/890 pro. Going with any of the newer models, even the now discontinued 900, requires reprogramming.
mbarland is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-20-2017, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jayoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks. The Ultimate One was on sale, and I managed to price match for even more savings, so I grabbed one on the way home. When I tried to copy using my old 7.7 software, it wouldn't recognize the One. However... when I installed the NEW software, and tried to login with my OLD info... it recognized me, and asked if I wanted to replace a remote! Hell, yes I do! Brought up my 880 with 15 devices, and it copied everything perfectly!

I will still probably pick up a scrap 880 to rebuild. I have three of them, lol.
jayoldschool is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 09-21-2017, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
mbarland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Crystal, MN
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayoldschool View Post
I will still probably pick up a scrap 880 to rebuild. I have three of them, lol.
Good call if you've got three. They're old remotes at this point. If you haven't had any buttons become unresponsive, you're on borrowed time.
mbarland is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-22-2017, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jayoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I had the "Volume Up" failure early on my first one. So early, that when I called to complain, they sent me another complete 880 for free. That's the one that just failed. The original one still works, with volume re-mapped, lol.
jayoldschool is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off