880 Manual? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 12-16-2005, 01:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jack D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm considering purchasing the Harmony 880 but I'd like to take a look at the manual first. As far as I can tell you can only access the manual on the Logitech site after installing the Harmony software. Is this correct? If so, would someone be kind enough to post the PDF of the manual so I can download it?

Thanks.
Jack D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 12-16-2005, 05:00 AM
Member
 
mr.pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There was no manual packaged in mine. Just a simple "put the batteries in and install this software" pictorial.
mr.pope is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 12-16-2005, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jack D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.pope
There was no manual packaged in mine. Just a simple "put the batteries in and install this software" pictorial.
Well the info on the LT site says that there is an option on one of the screens once you load the software to download the manual.
Jack D is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 12-16-2005, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ktulu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
880 Manual

Jeff

Gamertag - Ktulu1

"Assiduus usus uni rei deditus et ingenium et artem saepe vincit" - Cicero
Ktulu_1 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 12-16-2005, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jack D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff,
Got it. Thanks!
Jack D is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 12-25-2005, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
EricJRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Central United States
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gotta love Yahoo!

Or here it is too...

 

880_UserManual.pdf 437.0595703125k . file

-- Two wrongs don't make a right, but three rights do make a left.
EricJRW is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-08-2006, 09:28 AM
Newbie
 
Walks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lake Ridge, VA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see anyting in the manual regarding deleting individual buttons for a device or reordering the way the buttons are displayed on the 880. Is it possible to delete buttons and reorder?
Walks is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-08-2006, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walks
I don't see anyting in the manual regarding deleting individual buttons for a device or reordering the way the buttons are displayed on the 880. Is it possible to delete buttons and reorder?
- You can assign any command to any hard button and can add/delete any "soft keys" in the LCD screen. As for reordering the buttons, in the device mode, you can order them any way you want. Activity mode is a little different. You can reorder the commands within a device, but commands are grouped together. For example, if you press watch DVD, the LCD shows the DVD commands on top of the TV commands.
tokerblue is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-08-2006, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
Walks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lake Ridge, VA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the response tokerblue.... I assume these actions are carried out on the Harmony web site, but I still haven't seen a way to delete or reorder. I must be web-challenged, can you point in the right dirtection? Thanks.
Walks is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-09-2006, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The website is not intuitive. When you see the LCD options in the bottom, simply erase the commands by deleting what appears in the field name. You don’t have to change the actual drop down to delete. The order that the buttons appear on the remote is left to right.
tokerblue is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 01-19-2006, 12:04 AM
els
Senior Member
 
els's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pleasanton, CA, USA
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thanks for posting this. i have 3 of the 880 units, and i am hoping to start programming this weekend. i am the type that needs a manual, and this is great. any other tips you may have to get me started will be much appreciated.

happy new year
els is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-19-2006, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
mweppner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
els - once you play around with the website for a little while, it all starts becoming clear. I agree that a detailed manual would be nice. But you really get the hang of it after playing around for a bit.

Have fun!
mweppner is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-19-2006, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
czzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make sure you read through the FAQs on the website. Click ths "support centre" link on the home page. 99% of the questions asked on this forum are answered in the FAQs
czzer is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 03-07-2006, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricJRW
Gotta love Yahoo!

Or here it is too...
wow! I did the search on google and this did not come up but comes up on yahoo. haven't used yahoo search for over a yr. guess google isn't perfect then :) will make sure to check yahoo as well in future
mallu2u is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 03-07-2006, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
EricJRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Central United States
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, it's interesting that there are still some searches that work "better" in one engine vs. the other...

I wonder if there is a front end that will search both and only return unique results?

I still Yahoo! out of force of habit, though I do Google for images (since they were first with that).

-- Two wrongs don't make a right, but three rights do make a left.
EricJRW is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 03-07-2006, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
:) thanks for the link
mallu2u is offline  
Closed Thread Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off