Control aspect ratio with Comcast remote? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-25-2006, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Anondonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any way I can control the display's aspect ratio ("format") using comcast's "universal" remote control?

When in "TV" mode the remote only works for the volume and input functions. I'm forced to use the TV's remote to change aspect ratio (which I do frequently). Annoying.

Anondonk
Anondonk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-25-2006, 04:16 PM
Member
 
wjjz106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anondonk
Any way I can control the display's aspect ratio ("format") using comcast's "universal" remote control?
Anondonk -

You can access the "On Screen Menu" by power ON your TV and power OFF the cable box. Press the MENU button on your remote control. The following user settings will then appear for optimizing your TV picture;

- TV TYPE (16:9 Widescreen, 4:3 Letterbox, and 4:3 Pan Scan)
- Y Pb Pr OUTPUT (1080i, 720p, 480p, and 480i)
- 4:3 OVERRIDE

To exit and save changes press the POWER or MENU button.

I don't know if this is what your looking for but its still nice to know you can access OSM through your remote control.
wjjz106 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-25-2006, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
cbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjjz106
Anondonk -

You can access the "On Screen Menu" by power ON your TV and power OFF the cable box. Press the MENU button on your remote control. The following user settings will then appear for optimizing your TV picture;

- TV TYPE (16:9 Widescreen, 4:3 Letterbox, and 4:3 Pan Scan)
- Y Pb Pr OUTPUT (1080i, 720p, 480p, and 480i)
- 4:3 OVERRIDE

To exit and save changes press the POWER or MENU button.

I don't know if this is what your looking for but its still nice to know you can access OSM through your remote control.

Either you can read minds....... or I missed something!

Did he even say what TV he has?

I am sooooooo confused right now!

Corey
Sound Home Theaters
Authorized Fujitsu Plasma Dealer
Custom Remote Programmer
San Diego
cbane is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-26-2006, 07:44 AM
Member
 
wjjz106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbane
Either you can read minds....... or I missed something!

Did he even say what TV he has?

I am sooooooo confused right now!
cbane -

I wasn't sure myself. :confused:

I use the learnt TV picture format discreet codes in my TSU7000.
wjjz106 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-26-2006, 07:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
remoteshoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm confused too. If the Comcast box you have is HD like the SA8000 or 8300 then can't you just adjust the aspect ratio of the cable box? If so why would you ever need to change the aspect ratio of the TV?

On my SA8300HD I can scroll through the aspect ratio options with the "#" key.
remoteshoppe is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-20-2006, 10:40 AM
Member
 
RBBrittain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Motorola DCT6412 (Comcast's most popular HD DVR) isn't like the SA boxes; the ONLY way to adjust this box's aspect ratios is the special menu described earlier, and even that menu doesn't affect 1080i or 720p signals unless they are downconverted to 480p/i.

Though that setup is OK for widescreen HDTVs, if you have a 4:3 HDTV (like my Samsung TX-R2779H) it limits your options. If you leave the TV aspect ratio alone, your options are (a) vertically-stretched HD and normal SD, (b) letterboxed HD and squeezed or postage-stamp SD, or (c) have the box downconvert HD to 480p and format it automatically. If you want true letterboxed HD and normal SD (as I do), you must constantly change the TV's aspect ratio between 16:9 and 4:3.

Since I was able to program my Comcast remote for my Sammy (note that though code 0060 works on my set, only 0702 provides full control), my solution was to find my TV's keycode for the aspect-ratio key thru trial and error, then program it onto the remote. I initially used one of the PIP keys, but I'm moving it to the Help key, which is closer to the channel up/down keys and AFAIK isn't used with i-Guide software.
RBBrittain is offline  
Closed Thread Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off