LG remote code - Motorola 5100 box - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > A/V Control & Automation > Remote Control Area > LG remote code - Motorola 5100 box

Remote Control Area

zebrachina's Avatar zebrachina
11:17 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 7
07-05-2006 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2006
Hi all,
I purchased an LG42PC3D tv yesterday. The listing for the remote control setup does not include my Comcast Motorola DT5100 box(in fact, there are no motorola boxes listed). Does anybody have the code handy for this combination? I am not able to control the cable box with the tv remote...

Thanks,
Scott
Edmund's Avatar Edmund
11:43 AM Liked: 26
post #2 of 7
07-05-2006 | Posts: 1,598
Joined: Oct 2002
try GI or jerrold cable box codes.
zebrachina's Avatar zebrachina
11:06 AM Liked: 10
post #3 of 7
07-06-2006 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2006
Thanks Edmund. I tried all GI and Jarrod codes, but no luck. Circuit City tells me that the remote will not be compatible with the box - 'if motorola is not listed in the manual, then the remote won't work with any motorola boxes'. I find this hard to believe. I will contact LG to see what they say. Any other ideas?

Thanks for any help,
Scott
tokerblue's Avatar tokerblue
11:24 AM Liked: 21
post #4 of 7
07-06-2006 | Posts: 4,721
Joined: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebrachina
I tried all GI and Jarrod codes, but no luck... I find this hard to believe. I will contact LG to see what they say. Any other ideas?
- This shouldn't be hard to believe. TV manufacturers tend to only include a limited codeset for their remotes which support only mainstream items. You may also be able to toggle through all the supported devices and see if one will power up the Motorola.

If the standard remote isn't a learning remote, your only other alternative would be a universal.
zebrachina's Avatar zebrachina
11:30 AM Liked: 10
post #5 of 7
07-06-2006 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2006
Thanks tokerblue. I'm checking into the Harmony universals now. I was under the impression that the Motorola DT5100 was very mainstream - that's why I was surprised.
TORNT's Avatar TORNT
04:30 PM Liked: 10
post #6 of 7
12-28-2006 | Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2006
Was anyone able to find a code that will work the Motorola digital cable box?
zebrachina's Avatar zebrachina
05:19 PM Liked: 10
post #7 of 7
12-28-2006 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2006
Nope - I had absolutely no luck. I ended up buying a Harmony 520 for $99 at Radio Shack, and I'm pretty happy with it. It's great because it turns off all my components with a single push of a single button.
Closed Thread Remote Control Area

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3