Universal MX-3000 software - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 Old 08-16-2006, 02:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Just got a new laptop as the old one died and can't get software off it (data was backed up). Now I find that Universal Remote Control no longer has the software for MX-3000 available for download from its website.


Can someone with the software PM me and I'll give you my e-mail and send it to me?

Thanks.

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 Old 09-04-2006, 03:58 PM
Newbie
 
CoMotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope someone can help, bought mine off ebay late '04 and regretting not backing up the software download
Thanks!
CoMotion is offline  
post #3 of 48 Old 01-09-2007, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The above link doesn't work.

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #4 of 48 Old 01-09-2007, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried it and it works fine.
budeone is offline  
post #5 of 48 Old 01-09-2007, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
make sure you hit the free on the bottom of the page
budeone is offline  
post #6 of 48 Old 01-09-2007, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Woops. My Bad.

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #7 of 48 Old 01-09-2007, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Is this the same install file that Universal will give you upon proof of ownership of a MX-3000 with a valid serial #. Or is this a later more current file available only to authorized dealers/custom installers? (I finally obtained the former, but not the latter.)

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #8 of 48 Old 01-09-2007, 05:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is the install file that Universal will give you upon proof of ownership of a MX-3000 with a valid serial #.

It looked like from your post you didnt have either. I just bought mine today and I recalled seeing this post a while back.
budeone is offline  
post #9 of 48 Old 01-09-2007, 06:04 PM
Member
 
erikuva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After I clicked the "free" at the bottom of the first link, what is the link to click on the next page, that is actually free for the download? thanks in advance!
erikuva is offline  
post #10 of 48 Old 01-09-2007, 06:27 PM
Member
 
erikuva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nevermind, I'm an idiot....figured it out
erikuva is offline  
post #11 of 48 Old 01-10-2007, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
jeje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the link.... unfortunately this is an old version...

I own a mx3000 and a mx950... regularly purchased at an authorized dealer... major A/V retailer... with stores all over the country...

URC will not update the software for its customers... and forces them to go through their dealers for updates.... BUT... dealers will not give me the software or update my software not to breach their agreement with URC.

Conclusion: if you are a customer who wants to program its URC remotes, you are basically F....D.

This is the worst ever customer policy I have ever seen... the type that will drive company out of business for pure disregard of elementary customer service rules.

Who decently is going to drop $1000 to get a remote that they can not program? Worse, who will have to pay for programming services each time they want to add/remove a component in their system?

this is just insane...

I would be very cautious before advocating anyone to buy URC product... under these circumstances.

If you have a different experience with URC, I would love to hear from you.

Thanks
jeje is offline  
post #12 of 48 Old 01-11-2007, 09:37 PM
Member
 
ejfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you have to do A LOT of research. I bought my MX-300 from ebay at first. After seeing the issues with non-authorized, I returned it un-opened.

I bought the next from an authorized "big-box" store. They would not give me the software even though they could. So I returned it un-opened.

Then I called around and FINALLY found a store that would sell me the remote and provide the correct software. So now I am a very very happy MX-3000 owner.
ejfree is offline  
post #13 of 48 Old 01-12-2007, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you post the new version for us please.
budeone is offline  
post #14 of 48 Old 01-19-2007, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Boss252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I second that.I would like the new version also
Boss252 is offline  
post #15 of 48 Old 01-21-2007, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
theirishgonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: third star to the right and strait on till morning
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i used the update function in the software and it said it is the most revent

mine is 1.20.154

if you are lucky enough to be irish you are lucky enough
theirishgonzo is offline  
post #16 of 48 Old 01-28-2007, 09:10 PM
Member
 
KorCar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejfree View Post

you have to do A LOT of research. I bought my MX-300 from ebay at first. After seeing the issues with non-authorized, I returned it un-opened.

I bought the next from an authorized "big-box" store. They would not give me the software even though they could. So I returned it un-opened.

Then I called around and FINALLY found a store that would sell me the remote and provide the correct software. So now I am a very very happy MX-3000 owner.

Can you share the name of the store you bought it from? If not, can you PM me with it?

If at first you don't succeed, maybe you should quit.
KorCar1 is offline  
post #17 of 48 Old 09-11-2007, 08:17 AM
Member
 
Boss252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pm me and I'll send you a link to download it.
Boss252 is offline  
post #18 of 48 Old 11-30-2007, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
wbigford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree with gege. I bought one from Tweeters and they never told me I had to pay them a service charge to come and program my remote each time I add a component, until after they had finished the entire install. The guy wouldn't even tell me what the software was called. He said only dealers were allowed to have it.

They also did a totally bad job on the install. Rookie mistakes like installing the first satellite speaker without checking to see if the other one will fit in the same spot. Now they are not evenly spaced.

I would not recommend these guys to my worst enemy. I thought they would be better than that.

What good is it to have a programmable remote if you can't get the software to program it. If Complete Control wants to stay in control of their future, they better learn to give their buyers control of their remote.
wbigford is offline  
post #19 of 48 Old 11-30-2007, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The software for any of their remotes is available here. No, it's not the updateable software, but they are updating it once a year or so and did so a few months ago. Other than missing the "Live Update" feature, it's exactly the same as the updateable software. While I don't agree with the decision to limit distribution of the updateable software, it's not as big an issue as you might think. Most new components use the same codes as the previous year's model, especially discretes, so the worst case most of the time is that you have to learn a few of the commands.

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #20 of 48 Old 01-12-2009, 11:38 PM
Member
 
outlawmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i downloaded and got software running but it will not recognize the mx 3000 when i plug into pc im using vista. anyone run into this

Thanks mike
outlawmike is offline  
post #21 of 48 Old 01-13-2009, 06:51 AM
Member
 
Boss252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have never tried in on Vista. I will install it on a Vista pc and report back
Boss252 is offline  
post #22 of 48 Old 04-28-2009, 01:44 AM
Member
 
raggarichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had it running on Vista ultimate, i just reformat my machine with windows 7, I'll look up the instructions and forward it to you
raggarichie is offline  
post #23 of 48 Old 04-28-2009, 01:50 AM
Member
 
raggarichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the instructions that i used to install mine

http://adirob.blogspot.com/2007/06/g...n-windows.html
raggarichie is offline  
post #24 of 48 Old 04-20-2010, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
cardfanbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Universal remote is a distrubutor to A/V companies. The remotes are designed for custom av professionals to program. We go through extensive training to learn proper programming and it is a security measure to help keep our industry in business. The majority of URC's business is with av companies so that's where their loyalty is. If anyone could go and do your job it would put you out of business. And if you are technically capable of programming one of these remotes, then you should be able to find a way to get the software. It can be found
cardfanbob is offline  
post #25 of 48 Old 04-20-2010, 12:50 PM
Member
 
MistaChy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cardfanbob is right... the software is easy to come by if you talk to the "right" people... and it comes with help files that are an easy read to help the DIYer program the remote. Although, no software support for the enduser will come from URC

The unorthodoxed one viewing 86 inches in a 12x10 bedroom...
MistaChy is offline  
post #26 of 48 Old 04-20-2010, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 196
And he also felt the need to dig up a year old thread to act as his soap box.

bryansj is offline  
post #27 of 48 Old 04-20-2010, 01:28 PM
Member
 
MistaChy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

And he also felt the need to dig up a year old thread to act as his soap box.

lol... same ol same ol from those CI's... they have interests to protect

in my experience as of late.....

"I assume you didnt get your remote from and Authorised Dealer"
"The software is only available to Authorised Dealers"
"We are trained professionals, you are not"

The unorthodoxed one viewing 86 inches in a 12x10 bedroom...
MistaChy is offline  
post #28 of 48 Old 05-28-2010, 06:43 AM
Newbie
 
laurien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too have a new laptop and new AV toys and can't get the zip file anymore to reprogram my remote. Could someone please email me the MX3000.zip file to laurien@earthlink.net - I would greatly appreciate the assistance!
laurien is offline  
post #29 of 48 Old 07-11-2010, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
spark480's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My installation cd is not working anymore that came with mx-3000 and im switching to vista on new laptop can someone please send me zip file so i can reinstall on my new laptop. send to : s1071us@yahoo.com
spark480 is offline  
post #30 of 48 Old 07-12-2010, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 196
I doubt that anyone will be willing to email a 100+ MB file. Even if they did it would probably fail to either send or receive...

bryansj is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Universal Remote Complete Control Mx 3000 Ir Rf Color Touch Screen Remote Control

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off