URC MX 3000 Software Update - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 167 Old 04-24-2008, 06:45 PM
Member
 
novato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ct
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any chance you can PM the software?
Thanks in advance.
novato is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 167 Old 05-19-2008, 05:26 AM
Member
 
BiTeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I purchased a MX-3000 2nd hand on ebay and received it last week. I started playing with it yesterday and installed the software on my laptop and ran into an issue as I'm running Vista. I changed the install mode to Windows XP compatible and got the software installed. I ran the live update and it told me the software was no longer supported and was out of date. I suppose this means I bought an older version of the remote but I checked under the battery and all i find is a small sticker with MX-3000 ver 4.6 on it.

I then went to the URC website and downloaded the software there. I installed it and went to the communications toolbar and there was no live update option availble. It wasn't listed there at all, so again I cannot update the remote.

I have a new Pioneer PDP-5010 TV and Denon AVR-4308 receiver and would like to program them in and assume they are in the newest files.

Can anyone please provide any assistance? It would be greatly apprecaited.

I can also be reached via email at supra_n2trbl@hotmail.com

Thank-you and cheers
BiTeZ is offline  
post #33 of 167 Old 05-19-2008, 06:38 AM
Member
 
McRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSRC View Post

See the MX-950 thread. There is no way to get the MX-950 software to run on Vista. You'll have to install XP and run it in dual mode with XP.

To be clear, the ONLY remote that won't work w/Vista is the MX950, and don't expect that to be corrected.

Yes, there are Active Sync issues with any device connecting to Vista, and the MX3000 will work.
McRed is offline  
post #34 of 167 Old 05-19-2008, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sailn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East Coast US
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The vista issue seems to be with the 64 bit implementation. If you have a 32 bit processor, it seems to work. In any case it is a M$ issue and not really a URC issue.

In any case, the whole issue about updateable software is a NON-ISSUE!!! URC doesn't update the software that often, and new versions of the consumer software seem to be available every few months. Every time there seems to be a major upgrade ( firmware, bug fix, etc ) there is a new consumer non-updateable version.

Sure, you might have to learn a code or two, but so what. The fact that people complain about this is EXACTLY why URC wants these to be pro remotes for the CI market. The fact that they are available through other channels is the real problem.

Sailn...
Sailn is offline  
post #35 of 167 Old 05-19-2008, 08:01 AM
Member
 
BiTeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm running Vista 32 bit. Is there anyway you can point me in the direction of getting current software so I can get the remote updated and also get the coding for my Pioneer PDP-5010 TV and Denon AVR-4308 receiver?

Thanks.
BiTeZ is offline  
post #36 of 167 Old 05-22-2008, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
MWShannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone is still having issues with the MX-3000 and Vista here is a good link to get you going.

http://adirob.blogspot.com/2007/06/g...n-windows.html

BTW, I am also saddled with the non-updateable suite, so if anyone can be of assistance with getting a copy that can be updated it would be greatly appreciated.
MWShannon is offline  
post #37 of 167 Old 05-22-2008, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
ThomasV555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MWShannon,
Ask your dealer.

This bloody Redcoat said I was a terrorist.

Somewhere along the way I become an Elitist who looks down on the
cheap bastards who call themselves my AV Hobbyist peers.
I am not prepared.
ThomasV555 is offline  
post #38 of 167 Old 05-25-2008, 12:14 PM
 
Showmetheplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a file on my computer called MX-3000 Editor.msi , it installs a Editor version 1.20.154
emulator version 2.23.5.60627
irbd verison 1.76

Can you still program the mx-3000 with that?
Showmetheplasma is offline  
post #39 of 167 Old 05-25-2008, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
MWShannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would ask my dealer but they went out of business about a month ago. Unfortunately, I guess I am just out of luck.
MWShannon is offline  
post #40 of 167 Old 05-25-2008, 05:08 PM
Member
 
BiTeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't believe how hard it is to find the complete control suite software. I was given an updated version of the mx-3000 editor which installed and updated perfectly, however it wouldn't download files to my remote. Very odd. I had to go back and use an older version of the software so that I could at least get the remote working.

Finding a working version of the complete control suite software would be awesome!
BiTeZ is offline  
post #41 of 167 Old 05-26-2008, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeffthx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Rosemount, MN, USA
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a similar problem downloading a CCF file to my remote. I was directed to install the most recent version of Activesync on my laptop, and then the download worked perfectly.

jj

Click here to see my theater:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jeffthx is offline  
post #42 of 167 Old 05-26-2008, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
bandphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiTeZ View Post

I can't believe how hard it is to find the complete control suite software. I was given an updated version of the mx-3000 editor which installed and updated perfectly, however it wouldn't download files to my remote. Very odd. I had to go back and use an older version of the software so that I could at least get the remote working.

Finding a working version of the complete control suite software would be awesome!

http://adirob.blogspot.com/2007/06/g...n-windows.html
make sure your settings match, and if you have a poblem transfering the files to the remote,, close the urc icon in the system tray...that should work
i run all the current urc editors except the 950 with vista

“Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.”
bandphan is offline  
post #43 of 167 Old 05-26-2008, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
ThomasV555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why do you guys keep asking for the Complete Control Suite software?

It is the software that has all of URC's remotes under one program, so you can swap stuff. Why the bloody hell would you need that?! You only need software for your single remote in 98% of the situations.

You just want the live updateable software, b/c URC says you cannot have it. It is artificial demand and it clearly works. I cannot think of a remote I have setup where the live update would have been an issue.

The ignorance is laughable.

This bloody Redcoat said I was a terrorist.

Somewhere along the way I become an Elitist who looks down on the
cheap bastards who call themselves my AV Hobbyist peers.
I am not prepared.
ThomasV555 is offline  
post #44 of 167 Old 05-26-2008, 06:10 PM
Member
 
BiTeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the reply folks. I will give it a shot and post back my progress.

Cheers
BiTeZ is offline  
post #45 of 167 Old 06-01-2008, 06:49 PM
 
Showmetheplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First off, I think URC should be sued for selling a product then withholding the software. Very shady business practices.

That being said, I must ask. Why just not use the IR learning function to teach the remote the new IR codes for your new devices.

I am sure you do not buy a new device every week, maybe once in a while right?

Can't you just teach it the new IR codes?

Anyway, I do agree with you guy that its pretty stupid for them not to give you the full drivers for the remote like 99.9999999% of all electronics.

The dealers don't like how smart the end user have become. It use to be a day when end users were scared of anything electronics or having to do with a computer. Not anymore.

Its kind of like the old elevator operators which thought you needed a dedicated person to operate the elevator. Now, no one has even heard of them. They are like " what do you mean, just press the button for the floor you want" That is how these remotes will be in a fews years and dedicated remote installs will be a thing of the past.
Showmetheplasma is offline  
post #46 of 167 Old 06-02-2008, 03:08 AM
Senior Member
 
bandphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Showmetheplasma View Post

First off, I think URC should be sued for selling a product then withholding the software. Very shady business practices.

That being said, I must ask. Why just not use the IR learning function to teach the remote the new IR codes for your new devices.

I am sure you do not buy a new device every week, maybe once in a while right?

Can't you just teach it the new IR codes?

Anyway, I do agree with you guy that its pretty stupid for them not to give you the full drivers for the remote like 99.9999999% of all electronics.

The dealers don't like how smart the end user have become. It use to be a day when end users were scared of anything electronics or having to do with a computer. Not anymore.

Its kind of like the old elevator operators which thought you needed a dedicated person to operate the elevator. Now, no one has even heard of them. They are like " what do you mean, just press the button for the floor you want" That is how these remotes will be in a fews years and dedicated remote installs will be a thing of the past.

they do provide the complete software, just not the live version and access to programming templetes, which they sell to custom installers only and are seperate downloads inside their "installers" page. If you want the latest version of the software just unistall and reinstall. URC doesnt update softaware but about once a year. You are not really missing anything. The programing templetes just make programming faster when you do multiple installs. The complete control suite just includes all the live editors in one download. The reason for custom installers only is so non tech guys dont screw up their install and end up returning the remotes and bad mouthing the product. If you have a well established relatonship with a B&M, they would pass the software on to you(but as stated the software is on the website and available) There are not any "codes" that are not available to everyone, just templetes and some graphics. If you go to remotecentral.com there are much better templetes to use. Dedicated installs will not be a thing of the past, period. Id like to see joe schmoe program a amx or cresnet system, it takes time to learn, and not in a couple of days of reading. Contibute something.

“Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.”
bandphan is offline  
post #47 of 167 Old 06-02-2008, 06:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
ThomasV555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Showmetheplasma View Post

First off, I think URC should be sued for selling a product then withholding the software. Very shady business practices.

That being said, I must ask. Why just not use the IR learning function to teach the remote the new IR codes for your new devices.

I am sure you do not buy a new device every week, maybe once in a while right?

Can't you just teach it the new IR codes?

Anyway, I do agree with you guy that its pretty stupid for them not to give you the full drivers for the remote like 99.9999999% of all electronics.

The dealers don't like how smart the end user have become. It use to be a day when end users were scared of anything electronics or having to do with a computer. Not anymore.

Its kind of like the old elevator operators which thought you needed a dedicated person to operate the elevator. Now, no one has even heard of them. They are like " what do you mean, just press the button for the floor you want" That is how these remotes will be in a fews years and dedicated remote installs will be a thing of the past.

Classic example.

Should stupid people be allowed on the internet? \\

Discuss.

This bloody Redcoat said I was a terrorist.

Somewhere along the way I become an Elitist who looks down on the
cheap bastards who call themselves my AV Hobbyist peers.
I am not prepared.
ThomasV555 is offline  
post #48 of 167 Old 09-13-2008, 03:30 AM
Newbie
 
DeepEndX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone PM the latest software to me? Thanks!
DeepEndX is offline  
post #49 of 167 Old 09-13-2008, 07:39 PM
Newbie
 
DeepEndX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone send me a PM on the latest MX3000 software? Thanks!
DeepEndX is offline  
post #50 of 167 Old 09-14-2008, 04:28 AM
Senior Member
 
bandphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepEndX View Post

Can someone send me a PM on the latest MX3000 software? Thanks!

what device or codes are you missing?

http://www.universalremote.com/pro/registration.php

“Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.”
bandphan is offline  
post #51 of 167 Old 09-14-2008, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
DeepEndX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am missing Denon 3808. I was able to substitute by installing the older remotes but the Denon 3808 is not working.
DeepEndX is offline  
post #52 of 167 Old 09-14-2008, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
bandphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepEndX View Post

I am missing Denon 3808. I was able to substitute by installing the older remotes but the Denon 3808 is not working.

pm sent

“Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.”
bandphan is offline  
post #53 of 167 Old 09-22-2008, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
hartc36117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you still have a copy of this software? Thanks in advance.
hartc36117 is offline  
post #54 of 167 Old 09-23-2008, 06:43 PM
Member
 
heyta2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 980 software is not on their site. Anyone have a clue where to get that? Even the non-live one!
heyta2 is offline  
post #55 of 167 Old 01-04-2009, 06:39 AM
Member
 
Caution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone please PM me with this information as well. I bought the remote from Tweeter a while back, they wouldn't give me the information I needed at the time and until now I didn't really need it. I just bought an open box Denon AVR 2808CI without a remote and I'd really rather not have to spend ~$100 for a replacement.
Caution is offline  
post #56 of 167 Old 04-05-2009, 03:35 AM
Newbie
 
DeepEndX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just reinstalled my computer and lost the MX3000 software. Can anyone email the most updated software to me? xoyoxoyo@hotmail.com. Thanks!
DeepEndX is offline  
post #57 of 167 Old 05-09-2009, 06:44 PM
Newbie
 
jfedorko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone provide the latest MX-3000 software w/an updated database??? I have the non-Live Update version and need newer devices. Thanks!!!
jfedorko is offline  
post #58 of 167 Old 05-10-2009, 03:27 AM
Member
 
calabuig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello! I have the same problem as jfedorko...
Can you help me, please?
Thanks in advance!
calabuig is offline  
post #59 of 167 Old 05-14-2009, 04:37 AM
Newbie
 
kirky27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All:

Does anyone have the live updatable Complete Control Software suite (for URC remotes)? I would like a copy to program my remote. MX 980/MX 880

Thanks email: kirky27@yahoo.com

kirky27
kirky27 is offline  
post #60 of 167 Old 05-30-2009, 03:08 PM
Member
 
sahlomonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would someone please PM or email me the Complete Control Suite for my MX-3000 please?
sahlomonic is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Universal Remote Complete Control Mx 3000 Ir Rf Color Touch Screen Remote Control

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off