Schmart Solutions for PS3 IR Control (Discussion, Feedback, Q&A) - Page 32 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2008, 12:23 PM
Member
 
leemathre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

Forum works fine for me.

http://ps3ir.com/simplemachinesforum....php?board=9.0

That's the link I am using. Every time I try it, I get this error

Database Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query
File: /home/content/a/u/s/austindesign/html/simplemachinesforum/Sources/Security.php
Line: 279

Mike, I think you are right about the test site. That appears to be where I was. None of the links work.

Lee Mathre
Las Vegas, NV
leemathre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-12-2008, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
MMuecke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just clicked on the link in your post and it worked great. That is a puzzler.

Also, what site did you go to that had broken links?

Thanks,

Mike
MMuecke is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 12:45 PM
Member
 
leemathre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The link I tried was ps3ir.com. It appears now that the links do work. I think my problem was that when clicking the support link, the page does not appear to change. I have noticed now that there are some minor changes to the page. I was just exspecting the support link to take me to the support forums. I still get the error message I mentioned above and I have tried from at least three different networks and as many computers. OH well, appears just to be me.

Lee Mathre
Las Vegas, NV
leemathre is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
MMuecke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leemathre View Post

The link I tried was ps3ir.com. It appears now that the links do work. I think my problem was that when clicking the support link, the page does not appear to change. I have noticed now that there are some minor changes to the page. I was just exspecting the support link to take me to the support forums. I still get the error message I mentioned above and I have tried from at least three different networks and as many computers. OH well, appears just to be me.

yes ps3ir,com is something i was experimenting with many moons ago, I will redirect it this afternoon

please go to Schmartz.com to visit our site

Thanks
MMuecke is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 04:06 PM
Member
 
bpratt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMuecke View Post

please go to Schmartz.com to visit our site

The Support Forum link does not work on your site.
bpratt2 is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
MMuecke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's working now. We were trying to forward the PS3IR.com domain to our current site but it also forwarded the forum doh!
MMuecke is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 11:20 AM
Member
 
insane79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMuecke View Post

It's working now. We were trying to forward the PS3IR.com domain to our current site but it also forwarded the forum doh!

^^ sent u a PM
insane79 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 07:30 AM
Member
 
insane79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi,
i received the adaptor, flawless design, ur'll guys are SUPERB
i got the harmony remote i added the ps3 as game console with dvd ps3irx1 as the instruction leaflet but the ps3 shutdown feature is not working
any help?
thanks..
Burjor
insane79 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
MMuecke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by insane79 View Post

hi,
i received the adaptor, flawless design, ur'll guys are SUPERB
i got the harmony remote i added the ps3 as game console with dvd ps3irx1 as the instruction leaflet but the ps3 shutdown feature is not working
any help?
thanks..
Burjor

With the X1, simply navigate over to the far left and topmost item on the PS3 menu. There you will find the command to turn off the PS3.

If you want full control of turning the PS3 on and OFF, you need the PS3IR-PRO version
MMuecke is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 07:41 AM
Member
 
insane79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i think i read some where abt some macro commands which will make the harmony remote shut down the ps3??
insane79 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
MMuecke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That requires the macro in the PRO version. The X1 is the entry level model and doesn't have the shutdown macro. However, assuming you are at the PS3 menu level, it is a simple matter to add a shutdown macro in the Harmony itself. If you search on that on this forum you will find several discussions about doing just that.

Keep in mind though, since the X1 does not have a PS button function, it is more complicated to shut down if you are in a game or watching a movie since you have to return to the PS3 menu first.
MMuecke is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 02:48 PM
Member
 
DEIFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego-CA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike,

Got a PS3IR-Pro for Christmas from the wifey and wanted to check for updated firmware before I installed it, but I'm getting an error message on your site. I went to schmartz.com which forwarded to schmartstff.com and when I click on the Support Forum link i get the following error:

Database Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query
File: /home/content/a/u/s/austindesign/html/simplemachinesforum/Sources/Security.php
Line: 279

Check it out and let us know, thanks.
DEIFan is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DMILANI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Try this out:

http://ps3ir.com/simplemachinesforum...373b&board=9.0


Quote:
Originally Posted by DEIFan View Post

Mike,

Got a PS3IR-Pro for Christmas from the wifey and wanted to check for updated firmware before I installed it, but I'm getting an error message on your site. I went to schmartz.com which forwarded to schmartstff.com and when I click on the Support Forum link i get the following error:

Database Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query
File: /home/content/a/u/s/austindesign/html/simplemachinesforum/Sources/Security.php
Line: 279

Check it out and let us know, thanks.

DMILANI is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 03:11 PM
Member
 
DEIFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego-CA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, but no dice. Same error:

Database Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query
File: /home/content/a/u/s/austindesign/html/simplemachinesforum/Sources/Security.php
Line: 279
DEIFan is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:46 PM
Member
 
leemathre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEIFan View Post

Thanks, but no dice. Same error:

Database Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query
File: /home/content/a/u/s/austindesign/html/simplemachinesforum/Sources/Security.php
Line: 279

I haven't been able to get onto that site for several weeks. I get the same message. I have tried it from several different locations, different operating systems and different browsers. I reported it earlier in this thread, but until now it seemed that I was the only one having the problem. I am sorry that you are having issues, but I am relieved to know that it is not just I with the problem.

Lee Mathre
Las Vegas, NV
leemathre is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEIFan View Post

Thanks, but no dice. Same error:

Database Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query
File: /home/content/a/u/s/austindesign/html/simplemachinesforum/Sources/Security.php
Line: 279

THIS LINK works for me - it is the same one that DMILANI
Provided.

BUT COMPARE DMILANI's Link to yours. THEY ARE RADICALLY
different. Your Computer is changing them to something else.
drhankz is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 07:52 PM
Member
 
DEIFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego-CA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
drhanks -- What I posted is not the link I am trying to use, but the resulting error message on the screen. When i tried your link (http://ps3ir.com/simplemachinesforum/index.php) I get the same error. I have also tried the following:

http://austindesignlabs.com/simplema...orum/index.php
http://ps3ir.com/simplemachinesforum...373b&board=9.0 (DMILANI's link)

This is from Firefox 3.0 as well as IE 7.0 on both my computer and my wife's laptop. Yet I can get to the page and login and go thru the forum on my iPhone, no problem on the cellular network. Weird. I'll try tomorrow from work and see what happens.
DEIFan is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEIFan View Post

drhanks -- What I posted is not the link I am trying to use, but the resulting error message on the screen. When i tried your link (http://ps3ir.com/simplemachinesforum/index.php) I get the same error. I have also tried the following:.

I still smell a computer intervention - so to speak.

The only other thing I can think of is DMILANI and I are registered
users. When we click on that link - the website knows who we are.

You should be taken to a page to register. That seems to be not
working!
drhankz is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
MMuecke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEIFan View Post

Mike,

Got a PS3IR-Pro for Christmas from the wifey and wanted to check for updated firmware before I installed it, but I'm getting an error message on your site. I went to schmartz.com which forwarded to schmartstff.com and when I click on the Support Forum link i get the following error:

Database Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query
File: /home/content/a/u/s/austindesign/html/simplemachinesforum/Sources/Security.php
Line: 279

Check it out and let us know, thanks.

BTW, all devices are loaded and tested with the latest firmware which has not changed for several months now.
MMuecke is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 08:41 AM
Member
 
DEIFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego-CA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's gotta be something weird with my ISP (Cox) since it works from my work computer as well as my iPhone over cellular. Anyways, thanks Mike for the confirmation about the latest version. Good deal.
DEIFan is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEIFan View Post

It's gotta be something weird with my ISP (Cox) since it works from my work computer as well as my iPhone over cellular.

AGAIN - my two cent suggestion is not to point the finger at Cox.

Point your finger at your own Computer since the other computers
are doing it fine.
drhankz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off